interior-slider-gallery
interior-slider-gallery

Reviews

tripadvisor-logo


“Amazing”

They made my first visit to Boston a hassle free experience.  The room was amazing and oh so comfy, the staff was attentive and courteous, making my anxiousness over my interview become nonexistent. Will definitely come back.

Stayed February 2015
By SamanthaMedina


“Great experience for Valentine’s Wedding”

Our family and friends booked 10 rooms. Guests were 1 to 89 years old. In connection with a family wedding on Valentines’ Day during what ended up as another big snow event for Boston. All the staff were very helpful and welcoming especially the concierge who assisted with baby crib, foldaway cot, microwave, and transportation to/from BU’s March Chapel. Room service was very prompt in spite of weather and food arrived well prepared and hotel! Adjacent two restaurants Eastern Standard and Island Creek Oyster Bar were both very good, just steps away from lobby. Would not hesitate to recommend to anyone needing accommodation in Boston.

Stayed February 2015
By KnittingKitty


“Winter Wonderland”

My daughter and I had the best experience (again) staying at the Commonwealth this past week. Given the weather conditions outside 96 feet of snow!!) all the staff was so gracious and happy to serve. This isn’t the first time for us at the hotel but every time we come back our experience is world class. Since our daughter goes to BU, the location is ideal as it is close to Newbury St and downtown great food, sightseeing, and shopping. If you want even better treatment, wear your Red Sox cap!

Stayed February 2015
By Michael W


“Will definitely stay here next visit!”

We stayed at this hotel for 5 days for a family wedding. It couldn’t have been better.  The staff was incredibly hospitable and constantly at our service. The staff was attentive to our needs. We had our 16 month old with us for the stay and I’d recommend staying in the junior suite. It’s a large area and they set up a crib for him. I will definitely be staying here next time!

Stayed February 2015
By Sarah_Texas50


“Valentine’s Blizzard Weekend”

My husband booked a room at the Hotel Commonwealth as a surprise for Valentine’s Day. We were int he Rathskeller Suite. Any rock and roll buff would love it just for all the memorabilia in the suite. But the little touches made it an incredibly memorable weekend. From the complimentary red rose and Prosecco to the specialty folded towels to the wonderfully hospitable staff, we felt like treasured guests. This spread not just throughout the hotel staff but to the associated restaurants. we had equally wonderful experience at Eastern Standard , Island Creek Oyster Bar, and The Hawthorne. To have such amazing restaurants literally net door to our accommodations, especially during a blizzard, was wonderful!

Stayed February 2015
By Jan M


“Great hotel in a great location”

In my recent visit to Boston, I stayed in Hotel Commonwealth. The location is great, right in the heart of Boston and on top of a T-Station, which makes it very easy to get around the city. I also visited one of the restaurants at the hotel (Island Creek Oyster Bar), the food was great and service excellent! Overall, the hotel was great. I can certainly see myself visiting again.

Stayed February 2015
By Aussie_Allen


“Great People +Great Location = Great Hotel”

My wife and I stayed at the Hotel Commonwealth recently and were pleased. The staff was first class, very polite and enthusiastic. We used the valet car service because the young man who greeted us was extremely helpful and ready to please. The room was spacious and well appointed.

The bathroom was clean, neat and sparkling. This hotel is undergoing a major addition (96 rooms) and renovation (lobby) during a most difficult winter with class. The front desk was 100% behind the expansion and sincerely projected confidence and pride in the work being done. I would highly recommend staying at the Hotel Commonwealth when visiting Boston, especially if you are a baseball fan. Ask for a fifth floor room (off numbered) and you’ll see Fenway park which is directly across the street. The location of the hotel includes a T stop which is very convenient if you use the public transportation system. Overall, this place is a winner.

Stayed February 2015
By pistol53


“Another Great Stay!”

Over the past five years, I have had the pleasure of staying at this hotel about eight different times. Every visit has been wonderful. The hotel has gradually gone through some style changes that have resulted in a more modern look, (yes I do like others sort of miss the previous style of the hallways and rooms), but the bottom line is the service is still excellent, the rooms are bright and clean, and the hotel location is superb! I’m sure the new look will grow on me. There is just something about this hotel that feels so welcoming. We wouldn’t want to stay anywhere but the Hotel Commonwealth! If you get a chance, check out their fabulous restaurants! Fabulous!

Stayed January 2015
By jhbbmb11


“Superb Staff”

Hope you get Nick at check in. He is knowledgeable on things to do in the area. Had a room facing Kenmore Square and you could not hear cars or pedestrians. Why can’t hotels in NYC offer that!?!

Stayed January 2015
By Suzanne W


“Great getaway-Heidi & Pete”

My husband and I were looking for a nice getaway. Hotel Commonwealth far exceeded our wishes. Beautiful, clean rooms. Staff delightful. Great proximity to surrounding attractions. Highly recommended. A joining restaurant had delicious food.

Stayed January 2015
By Heidi S


“Highly enjoyable stay”

We found this hotel when bringing our daughter to Boston University, which is across the street from this hotel. Great location, the T stop is essentially a couple steps beyond the front door, rooms were clean, spacious and beautiful, service was excellent. Would stay here again.

Stayed January 2015
By ClarePMC


“Great Experience from Start to Finish”

This was my first time in Boston and I did some research ahead of time to find a great place to stay. The location is unbeatable and the amenities were also excellent. The hotel offers free morning car service anywhere in a two mile radius, which I was able to use for my interview. Oh and do not miss out on Island Creek Oyster Bar- it is rated as one of the best restaurants in Boston. What really makes the place special, however, is the fabulous service. Everyone from the doorman, front desk staff, and housekeeping was accommodating and extremely friendly. Jeff, in particular, went out of his way to make sure everything was perfect. I would stay here again in a heart beat and would recommend it to anyone.

Stayed January 2015
By 1535sara


“Best hotel in Boston”

Excellent location. Rooms were just perfect and the service is outstanding. I’ve stayed here three years in a row and will continue to only use this hotel while in Boston. Doesn’t get any better than the Hotel Commonwealth!

Stayed January 2015
By agnesfromtipperary


“Pampered- in Every Way”

Pampered- in every way. I was only at the Hotel Commonwealth for two nights but I wish it had been longer. The staff was friendly and welcoming from the doorman, front desk, room and housekeeping staff and everyone at Eastern Standard Restaurant. All our needs and wants were met and more. We stayed in the lovely library suite and I enjoyed browsing through dozens of books and magazines as I relaxed on the window seat chaise sipping hot tea. The suite was beautiful, impeccably clean, comfortable and charming. The shower amenities from Italy and the luxurious robe added to my feeling pampered. The restaurant served amazing food and drinks. But aside from all the comfortable surroundings and food- it was the staff that will make you want to come back again and again. They all truly seemed to enjoy their jobs and caring for their guests. That in itself was a delight.

Stayed January 2015
By Mary N.


“The place to stay if you are in Boston.”

Comfortable and well furnished rooms featuring local history; best pillows! the staff was friendly and attentive and went above and beyond; fantastic wait staff at the hotel lounge. Our second and not last visit.

Stayed December 2014
By Andriaki


“Location and service were great!”

Stayed on this hotel last July.  Absolutely loved the location, view of our room, and the service. The price I paid for this hotel is a little high up there in comparison to my normal choice of lodging, nevertheless, it was a good experience. I think this is the best hotel to stay at around the Fenway Park.

Stayed December 2014
By Athenatc


“Tremendous Hotel”

We came for our first visit to Boston from Reykavik, Iceland. We booked the hotel because of it’s reviews on line. It was better than we imagined. We had our 5 months old baby son with us and we had the most wonderful time at the hotel. The room was excellent with great bed, very clean and excellent sleeping quality. We staff wanted to do everything to help us and make our life easier. We rented a car through the hotel and it was very good. The people at the front desk was wonderful form day one.  In fact, everybody was wonderful that worked in the hotel. the hotel has an excellent place for breakfast, Eastern Standard and is very cozy to sit there and have dinner. We will for sure be back at Hotel Commonwealth in the near future when we come back to Boston. I would highly recommend the hotel to other visitors. 5 stars for me.

Stayed December 2014
By Gunnar J


“Top notch hotel”

When planning our trip to Boston, I booked our stay at this hotel not knowing anything about the hotel other than reading some reviews and viewing their website. I was very pleased with our location and accommodations. Our Commonwealth Suite was very roomy, elegant, quiet and recently renovated. I highly recommend the adjoining restaurant, Eastern Standard. The hotel is near great shopping on Newbury Street, bus and subway lines and wonderful sightseeing destinations. Above all, everyone was very friendly and helpful.

Stayed November 2014
By Pamela S


“Great little gem”

Love, love, love this hotel!We stayed an entire week in a beautifully appointed suite. It was spacious and perfect for a family of four. The staff was friendly, helpful and very accommodating. Great food and ambiance at Eastern Standard next door. Centrally located, and steps away from the “T.” We will definitely be back!

Stayed November 2014
By 5wanderlusts


“Making a business trip a total pleasure”

We had another wonderful stay at the Hotel Commonwealth. Work trip for me but pleasure for my husband. The rooms are awesome but the staff deserves all the credit, especially Sean, Nick and Jeff. Very welcoming and gracious. Love that the hotel was centrally located for sight seeing. Beautiful city. We loved it!!!

Stayed November 2014
By Karlyne C


“Beautiful hotel centrally located”

I had a very short stay in the lovely, comfortable Hotel Commonwealth and would recommend it to anyone. I wish I could have stayed there longer! The room was very quiet, no sound drifts from elsewhere. There’s a fridge in the room which is very handy, especially for transatlantic travelers likely to wake in the small hours wanting breakfast! However, there is also 24 hour room service.

Stayed November 2014
By Lily Rory


“Quaint and Charming”

A Hilton Gold member, I have stayed in a no. of Hilton Hotels in the Boston area over the years, but no longer! The Commonwealth was a wonderful step back in time with keen, tasteful attention to details that the chains have long betrayed. If you want to stay in a really centrally located Back Bay luxury hotel, the Commonwealth should be your first choice. It’s highly professional staff and lovely, well appointed and quiet rooms make it an exceptional Boston hotel. It will in future be my first choice while in Boston.

Stayed November 2014
By David C


“I may be spoiled for all other Boston hotels”

Everything about my stay was excellent. Of course, it is hard complain when your stay begins with a room upgrade, but that is not why I am so pleased with my stay. Everyone on the staff was fantastic- from the doorman and valet to the front desk and housekeeping.

My room, a junior suite, was beautiful, spacious, and incredibly comfortable. the area was great for a morning run and the evening dining (Island Creek) and drink (Hawthorne) options should not be missed.

I will be back, but not soon enough.

Stayed November 2014
By acciodogs


“The best hotel in Boston”

I stay in many hotels across the US and can honestly say this hotel has them all licked for service and the quality of the staff. Everyone is always only too willing to help and always smiling. VIP service all around. I’ve stayed at a lot of different hotels in Boston over the years and can say honestly that this is the best.

Stayed November 2014
By Colin H


“Fun,mid-week stay!”

Our return to the Hotel Commonwealth far exceeded any expectations (which were already set high from previous stays there). From the moment we pulled up to the front door, we were treated like royalty…even with a pre-schooler in tow! We were given a free room upgrade which blew our minds away- the new “Rat” suite, dedicated to the legendary punk club in Kenmore Square…beyond awesome considering we were headed to a concert later in the evening. The room was amazing rock memorabilia! Our daughter was also given a teddy bear by one of the hotel staff as a “welcome!” The hotel has been renovated very recently, and the rooms are VERY clean and modern, but not “over the top” weird modern. Dinner (and breakfast) at Eastern Standard is always a favorite stop for my wife and me. The hotel is a perfect place to stay if catching a game at Fenway or going to a nearby concert (House of Blue, Brighton Music Hall, Paradise Rock Club, ect). Room service was professional and timely. It’s not a matter of IF, but rather, of WHEN we will return to a stay! A++++!

Stayed November 2014
By Charles T


“Excellent Stay”

Stayed here with my wife for a few days at the end of October for her birthday and have to say the hotel lives up to its great reviews. Room, staff, restaurants, location, all good and easy to access to everywhere we wanted to go in Boston, with the Prudential center shops and newbury street all within an easy 10 minute walk. Worth the money for the views from the top of the Prudential center and also enjoyed the old town trolley bus tours. If you want a hotel right in the center then go for it but the Commonwealth in my opinion is located a little away from the hustle and bustle in a very nice and handy location.

Stayed November 2014
By skymanpaul


“Sales Kick-Off Meeting”

We had a perfect 4 days at the hotel@ Every year we book our Corporate Sales Meeting at Hotel Commonwealth. We typically stay Monday-Thursday. We occupy all of the conference rooms for our program and meetings and book a signification number of hotel rooms for employees and vendors.

Every year it’s amazing and extraordinary but this year it was absolutely perfect! The food and incredible, the service impeccable. They took care of all of our business needs from accommodating extra vendors, set-up with the production and film crew, setting up the gift bags and advertiser display banners. They even picked the menus and the food was out of this world! They treated us like GOLD!!!!

Our company has numerous events throughout the year at other venues in various locations but Hotel Commonwealth treats us the best by far. They have an amazing staff and resources.

I strongly suggest staying at the hotel. It’s lovely….I suggest you try the short ribs.

Stayed October 2014
By Crystal B


“Great unique luxurious rooms, hotel with a lot of character and style”

I’ve been staying here every week for business travel and so have seen many rooms after they updated them: with contemporary kitchen and gigantic love seat, 270 degree view of Prudential, Kenmore Square and BU, and Fenway Park… You can’t beat the location, outstanding service, high quality finishing and management of the hotel.  Restaurants nearby and a short walk to the river for a run or Newbury Street for shopping make it a perfect destination for a weekend trip or longer.  Highly recommend it.

Stayed October 2014
By OlgaH8


“Great to be back!”

We had tremendous hospitality for the meeting last week. Everyone LOVED the hotel, accommodations, dinner, and meeting space.  Everything went off without a hitch which made my job that much easier.  I really loved the fact that I could text Brian (Banquet Manager) with anything that we needed- it was less disruptive for me especially since I was actually attending the meeting.

Hotel Commonwealth continues to be my FAVORITE hotel in Boston and always will be! I really enjoyed being back at my old stomping grounds and everyone made such an effort to make me (and the group) feel so welcome. I can’t wait to visit again and see all the future changes you are planning!

Stayed October 2014
By HotelGuest8416