TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence 2015 Winner

“Birthday Weekend Yes”

Everyone at front desk and doormen were great!!! Olivia and Annika especially lovely and helpful. Great place to stay even for this Yankee fan! I would recommend to all even the 5 star hotel guests… Thank you everyone! I look forward to returning.

Stayed September 2015

by Meg T

“Wedding Prep”

We (parents of Bride) don’t reside in this city so we had our doubts about getting so many people (18in bridal party) in and out and about in such a busy part of the city. Let me just say from curbside assistance, to door , desk, rooms attached restaurants above and beyond was their service and professionalism! And the bridal loft suite!! The perfect prep room!!!100% would return again for future weddings or anytime you want to feel amazing!!

Stayed September 2015

by TRIPBarrett

“The Best Hotel in Boston!”

Hands down this is the best hotel in Boston, not just for its proximity to Fenway Park, everything about it is good. This is our second five night stay at the Commonwealth and we would never consider staying anywhere else now. The staff are amazing, truly! The doormen, the front desk, house keeping, they are all awesome. We are celebrating our anniversary (again at this hotel) and were upgraded from a Fenway Room to an Executive Suite which is amazing – thanks guys. Crisp white bed linen, comfy bed, pure white fluffy towels, quality toiletries not to mention, even the bottled water has the Red Sox logo on it. Fridge and coffee machine – excellent. Love the nightly ‘turn down’ service so you’re going back to your room with mood lighting on and chocs on your bed. The suite has a ‘tablet’ in it which is fab. We are on third night of our five night stay and are loving it, just the same as first time round. We will be sad to leave on Saturday. Thanks to you all at HC and Go Sox!

Stayed September 2015

by UffieIppo 

“What a treat to stay here”

I was fortunate to be on business in Boston and my stay at the Commonwealth was organised for me – lucky me! Very luxurious – enormous room with beautiful bathroom. Obviously the room rates are high for such a high quality hotel but definitely worth it. Good location too.

Stayed September 2015
by Rachel E

“Excellent hotel with great service”

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Hotel Commonwealth for my brother’s wedding. This was our 7th wedding of the year, but our best hotel experience of wedding season 2015. The overall service provided by all levels of staff was impeccable. We literally had zero complaints. Although the hotel can be on the pricey side, it is definitely worth staying here.

Stayed September 2015
by meghannlr

“#1 in Boston”

When in Boston this is the only place we stay. We have been to other hotels that are top notch, but the staff (Especially Nicholas at the front desk) set this hotel a step ahead. The hotel is the closest to Fenway, nearly in the middle of Boston University, has 2 restaurants, 3 bars as well as room service. Can’t wait to return.

Stayed September 2015

by capemaysun 

“Perfect Stay in Boston”

From the minute we pulled up to the Hotel Commonweath Frankie the valet was opening our doors and welcoming us with this great warm smile. Shortly after that Steve the bellman was escorting us up to the front desk where Jeff was greeting us and was kind enough to upgrade us to a junior suite. The suite was gorgeous, “Thank You”. How refreshing to meet such a great staff that left a caring impression making easy to remember each one by first name. Steve “the bellman” after chatting a bit suggested a drink and appetizer in “the Hawthorne Room”. The perfect suggestion after traveling, the drinks were so unique and appetizers superb. Following that Jeff at the front desk suggested a local seafood restaurant. Another home run. Well thanks again to my new friends at the “Hotel Commonwealth” we will see you soon. The happy couple from Vermont

Stayed August 2015

by freedomfitness999 

“Beautiful Hotel”

This was an exceptional property. The location was convenient to public transportation and shopping and the hotel itself was beautiful. The room was very clean and spacious. The bed was comfortable and the linens were very nice. The restaurants associated with the hotel were delicious and the hotel and restaurant staff was accommodating and knowledgable. I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone

Stayed August 2015

by Tullia2

“Excellent Experience at Hotel Commonwealth”

What a wonderful experience. Cane I for an overnight with my sister going to see the Red sox play first time in seeing them play in about 20 years for both of us … Pull up at 930 on the morning hoping for early check in… My sister jumps out and meets this wonderful man At the door dressed in a Boston Red Sox shirt … His name is Frankie we were sold from that moment in … He was so friendly and wonderful … He helped us out and explained everything to us about the early check in and valet parking …! It didn’t stop there although I did not catch the pleasant person at the checkin he was just as wonderful and accommodating … Oh and I believe our bell hop gentlemen was Dave another great experience … Oh the hotel itself was very well appointed beds comfortable clean restaurant and staff a++++++… I would absolutely recommend and I will be back again … Thanks Frankie and all the staff !!!

Stayed August 2015

by Chynna50

“Rock n Roll Suite @ Commonwealth”

We were greeted immediately by a Red Sox Jersey doorman who couldn’t be nicer. Followed up by the front desk who upgraded our room to the Rock N Roll Suite. Great Suite w Boston history of the rock scene. My 13 yr old thought Dad was extremely cool! Cant wait to go back to Boston and stay at the Commonwealth!

Stayed August 2015

by Joseph D

“Wonderful Hotel!”

Needed an extended stay in Boston and the hotel staff made us feel so welcome and comfortable! Special thanks to Corinne LeMay! Our room was clean, modern, large and comfortable, the hotel is in a excellent location for walking to many of the great Boston activities and the restaurants in the hotel are superb. Many other restaurants and shops are nearby, with Fenway Park and public transportation steps away. All the staff members are friendly and helpful. This is an all-around great place to stay. Highly recommended.

Stayed August 2015

by Skylar G

“1st time staying at this hotel”

This was the fist time staying here being very loyal to another chain. They did not disappoint! We will definitely stay here again. From the moment we arrived everything was perfect. The front desk (I wish I had their names so I could give proper credit) were friendly, helpful and accommodating. Our room, very spacious, had an amazing view of Fenway, a surprise for my family. Fenway chairs delivered to our room was the icing on the cake! Room service and house keeping held the same standard. We were able to walk to Fenway so the location couldn’t be any better. I can not say enough good about our experience! Hotel Commonwealth won us over!

Stayed July 2015

by Kari H

“Wish we could have stayed longer!”

My husband, son and I recently stayed two nights at Hotel Commonwealth and we enjoyed it very much. Very close to Fenway Park, about a 5 minute walk. The T stop (subway) was right outside the front entrance. The staff, from the doormen and valet to the front desk, were friendly and professional. Our room was a clean and spacious executive suite, with an awesome view of Kenmore Sq. but no noise – they did a great job soundproofing. We will be back again during baseball season! Highly recommended.

Stayed July 2015

by Michelle S

“Beautiful Hotel – Great Location!!!!”

We stayed here at the end of our vacation for a few days. What a lucky find for us!!! We had never been to Boston and weren’t sure what part of town to stay for a good “tourist” locale. Ends up this was the PERFECT PLACE!!! First off, the renovations they have done are top notch, and the photos online represent the quality and beauty of the place. We dined at the Oyster Bar located right next the the hotel and it was FABULOUS!!!! Walked to Fenway Park and bought all our logo wear, dropped it back in the room, and went back out to hit the Freedom Trail. The hotel is located right next the the subway station. The staff was great about instructing us what to take to get the the trail, saving us time & $ from a cab ride. The T was only a 12 minute ride and cost $5.30 round trip to and from the resort to the freedom trail and waterfront. It was so easy to maneuver, so don’t let this inexpensive and easy mode of public transport dissuade you. After long days of shopping, drinking and eating, it was so nice to return to this beautiful hotel with friendly staff and gorgeous/spacious room . Thanks for a great stay

Stayed July 2015


“Fantastic Find!!”

This hotel was truly deserving of a 5 star rating (even a 6th for the houndstooth decor as we are Crimson Tide fans)…everything exceeded our expectations. The staff was incredibly friendly and the rooms were spacious,beautiful and clean…perfect for our family of 5 who checked in after a 17 hour drive!! We were especially impressed and grateful when the Housekeeping Manager,Sam, called us after we checked out to tell us a jewelry box was left in the room. He had the jewelry fedexed to us and promptly emailed a tracking number…a couple days later the jewelry arrived! This exceptional customer service is rare these days. Well done Hotel Commonwealth!!

Stayed July 2015


“Fantastic Service”

My family and I booked this hotel last minute for a weekend trip to Boston for the Foo Fighters Concert at Fenway Park. Everything about this hotel is excellent. From the welcoming valet, to the extremely helpful concierge service, to the comfortable and spacious room. The entire hotel smells like white tea and thyme , providing guests with a relaxing atmosphere. One of the concierge , Nicholas McDonald went above and beyond and performed excellent service to ensure our stay was nothing but extraordinary. Our weekend was fantastic, thanks to the great hotel staff from the hotel commonwealth

Stayed July 2015

by Kristey P

“Spacious, Well-appointed, Great Amenities, Fantastic Location”

I loved everything about this hotel, and I would like to stay there again and again while visiting our daughter who is entering her Freshman year at Boston University. The rooms were large. They had great chairs and desks, and great to live in and work in for a few days. The bathrooms were large. Room service was prompt and fantastic. The design aesthetic was perfect, and all the bars and restaurants right downstairs were fantastic, and open til 2am. What’s not to love?

Stayed July 2015

by Tortoiseshell1 

“Hotel Commonwealth and Eastern Standard – Still a Fabulous Combination”

I am so happy that I was introduced to Hotel Commonwealth and Eastern Standard restaurant by a friend about 6 years ago, and have visited quite regularly since……it’s the only hotel that I’ll stay at in Boston. From the moment I have been very fortunate to have been introduced to Hotel Commonwealth by a friend about 6 years ago, and have visited quite regularly since…… From the moment you arrive, you are treated like royalty and a delightful experience begins with class and style. Everyone up front (thanks again Tim and Frankie) and the valet/security staff are amazing with the ability to remember appropriate details and instantly make you feel welcomed, safe and secure. The front desk staff remains the epitome of world class customer service- thank you to Adam Sperling, Anika, Ophilia, Emily, Marcela, and Nick…… You always make every stay perfect ! Preparing to expand, the newly renovated Hotel Commonwealth is a beautiful luxury boutique hotel perfectly situated in busy Kenmore Square with lovely variety easily accessible and interesting attractions nearby. With everything going on outdoors, you would never know of any of it from the inside. Beautiful lobby, with lovely seating areas, workout club and meeting areas. Guest rooms are sound proof and extremely well-appointed with beautiful decor, large flat screen tv’s, and fabulous, very comfortable beds with fine linens. A large comfortable bathroom with a full soaking tub and a rainfall shower, and lovely amenities top of the ambiance. Depending on what you prefer, views of Fenway Park and the House of Blues or of busy Commonwealth Avenue are both a treat. The biggest asset of this destination is surely the staff and its world-class customer care. The hotel is flanked by two wonderful restaurants, Oyster creek and then of course the infamous Eastern Standard on the other side. Eastern Standard is managed by the wonderfully talented Andrew Holden, and the food and guest service is wonderful. Nick, Naomi and everyone else at Eastern Standard will take very good care of you with his professional mixology talents and a varied menu. . Hotel Commonwealth and Eastern Standard will not disappoint…….. Thanks to everyone- there I’m still your biggest fan from New Hampshire!

Stayed July 2015

by Dja D

“Red Sox Birthday Stay”

We were able to obtain Redsox / Yankees tickets early in the season for my son’s 13th birthday on July 10th. I wanted to book a hotel close by so we would not have to drive home late after the game. It was not the first time we have stayed at the hotel as a family so it was an easy choice to make as we have always had a pleasant stay. As usual we were greated warmly at the valet and at the front desk. Our room was large, clean and modern. The view of Fenway always gets the kids excited. We did not have an opportunity to dine at the commonwealth as both of the dining rooms were full after the game (not unexpected due to the location). I would highly recommend the Commonwealth to anone visiting Boston

Stayed July 2015

by Tim W

“Excellent centrally located hotel with views over Fenway Park’s Green Monster”

My family of four (including 2 grown up children) shared a deluxe double room, which was spacious and spotless, for 4 nights last week. The room had views over Fenway Park and was extremely comfortable and well maintained. We could walk to Boston Common in 15 minutes or get the subway from Kenmore station right beside the hotel. The staff were friendly, courteous and helpful and I would highly recommend the Commonwealth for any stay in picturesque Boston

Stayed July 2015

by Gtpmac 

“Very Nice Hotel and Very Close to Fenway Park”

We were in town to catch the Red Sox and this hotel was perfect! Large rooms, large bathrooms and very quiet. Hotel is about a 5 minute walk to Fenway Park. Would stay here again. The Kenmore (green line) T stop is right next to the hotel. Staff was top notch and answered any questions we had.

Stayed July 2015

by Andrew T

“Memorable First Red Sox Game”

As a lifelong Boston Red Sox fan, my husband wanted to make our kids first experience a good one. This hotel is as enchanting as the pictures, but the staff really made this a trip of a lifetime- especially Bellman Steve.

In addition to the beautiful rooms, the larger-than-normal bathroom size was a pleasant surprise compared to other city hotels where we have stayed. If you can, get a Fenway-facing room; there is no other experience like it for a Sox fan. Ask about Terry the bear. He is the hotel mascot, complete with a children’s book about Terry’s stay at Hotel Commonwealth

Stayed July 2015

by Jamie B

“Wonderful Stay in Boston”

My wife, another couple and I had the pleasure of staying at The Hotel Commonwealth in Boston during the first week of June. It was fantastic! The hotel service was outstanding, the restaurants and bar located in the hotel were such a treat. The subway, a liquor store and Fenway Park are just out the front door. I can’t say enough about how much we enjoyed this outstanding hotel and the fine dedicated and professional employees that made our vacation wonderful. I would never stay at any other hotel in Boston; not ever! Wow!!! Thanks to everybody at The Hotel Commonwealth.

Stayed June 2015

by retiredUtah 

“Hotel Commonwealth”

The Hotel Commonwealth was an incredible find! In the heart of Kenmore Square and only steps from Fenway Park (some rooms overlook the field and special packages through hotel). But it just keeps getting better! Flanked by two great restaurants, Island Creek Oyster Bar and Eastern Standard foodies are sure to be wowed. Hotel staff friendly, incredibly helpful and really eager to please (poor valet made 2 special trips back to our car for forgotten items). Clean and quiet, really nice stay. Room was perfect, bed comfortable and huge number of pillows all varying degrees of soft and hardness

Stayed July 2015

by jckelly4 

“Wonderful Hotel, Fabulous Staff”

We have stayed in Boston many times but this was our first visit to the Hotel Commonwealth, and it will definitely be our home-away-from-home from now on. The hotel is beautiful and rooms are especially spacious, with a clever layout that allows for a nice seating area (we booked the Executive Room, with doors that closed between sleeping and bed area). And quiet! I don’t know how they do it, especially being right near Fenway Park, but the best sleep ever. Beds are soft and comfortable, great lighting, upscale decor and bathroom amenities. But what really sets the hotel apart is the staff. Warm, helpful, eager to please, going above and beyond in every respect. Special shout-outs to Seun and Emily at the front desk, concierge Nick, and bellman Tim. As wonderful as everyone was, though, the real star of our visit was Habib, part of the housekeeping team. He absolutely saved us each and every day and provided such outstanding service, including the evening we accidentally left our do-not-disturb sign on the door all day and didn’t get our room cleaned. All I asked for were a couple of towels, but Habib quickly and graciously made up the entire room, five stars all the way. This hotels hires the right people and trains them well. We can’t wait to return!

Stayed July 2015

by sunandfog 

“Location Location Location”

We absolutely loved our stay! The check- in was so easy and the girl who helped us was really nice. The hotel is right next to Fenway Stadium, we couldn’t see the stadium from the room we stayed in, but I am sure you can see it from the other side. I mean the location is just perfect. You have bars and restaurants all around, and it’s an easy walk. The room was extremely clean and neat. I would definitely recommend this hotel

Stayed June 2015

by sarinha3o 

“Best Hotel in Boston”

We stayed at the Hotel Commonwealth this past weekend. I must admit, I have stayed in numerous hotels throughout Boston and the Hotel Commonwealth was the best by far! The staff was excellent!! They were very attentive our requests and/or needs. The place was also extremely clean. The beds were quite comfortable and the showers had great water pressure – not always the case in many hotels. I would highly recommend this hotel and would not hesitate to book our next stay there. I would also like to thank the staff at the hotel for making our stay such an enjoyable and memorable one!

Stayed June 2015

by Linette2 

“Perfect in Almost Every Way!”

I have stayed in several hotels since we often go to Red Sox games however, was my first time at the Commonwealth and was pleasantly surprised by the ambience. We were greeted at the front desk by a young gentleman who was gracious and hospitable. We were also extremely happy with size of the room and the decor, Overall, it was a spectacular evening. Too bad the Redsox didn’t win

Stayed June 2015

by Donna K

“So Glad we Stayed Here”

I generally stay at the Ritz or Four Seasons when available and convenient to my situation. I say that to make sure you know what I am talking about and this isn;t my first review. This was highly rated on Tripadvisor so I took the chance and booked a room for our 5 day trip to Boston for my wife’s 40th birthday. My sister in law who just found out she was expecting was also with us. I informed the hotel of this in hopes that they would do something special or make them feel welcomed.

Anika and her staff did just that and then some. The entire staff was friendly and just awesome. The hotel is in the BEST location! The T is right underneath the hotel and if you are not scared to take public transpo you will do just fine. We walked to a game at Fenway Park and it took all of 7 minutes. The Eastern Standard is on one side and The Island Creek Oyster bar was on the other side. I was in heaven. we had dinner our 1st night at the Eastern Standard and Oysters every night at around 10PM at Island Creek.

The beds were comfortable and we had a view of Fenway out of our window. The rooms were huge which is actually one of the main reasons I booked this reservation in the first place. The high rating nor my lofty expectations were not disappointed. The Wifi is also free. Amazing, the wifi was actually free. Read many of my other hotel reviews(ummm..Four Seasons DC) and you will see that is a big issue with me. I pay premium money to stay at a hotel, don’t nickel and dime me.

Amazing visit and an amazing hotel. I will not even look to stay anywhere else when we come back to Boston. Thank you for an amazing stay

Stayed June 2015

by Joe J

“Great Hotel Near Fenway”

We had never been to Boston and chose this hotel because it’s walking distance to Fenway Park. This is a really nice hotel. Big, comfortable, modern, and clean rooms. The staff is outstanding and didn’t hesitate to answer all of my questions and point me towards a couple of great places to eat. The walk to Fenway for the game was 5-10 minutes. I really enjoyed the stay.

Stayed  June 2015

by Jason C

“First in Class”

From top to bottom this hotel is first in class. The lobby is a fantastic place to lounge, the rooms are clean, quiet, large, have great views, and nice finishes. Both attached restaurants and the Hawthorne are some of the best places in the City. But what truly sets this place apart is the experience and service delivered by the staff. From door to door they are ALL polite, professional, helpful and friendly. I couldn’t recommend this hotel more highly

Stayed June 2015

by Mevansp

“Return Trip, Still Quiet and Relaxing”

We stayed at the Commonwealth last year to tour BU, and now we returned to the Commonwealth for the BU orientation. Despite the din of Comm Ave outside, the room was incredibly quiet and relaxing. The hotel staff at the front desk were attentive and nice, and I would like to single out the Manager Ophelia for a special thank you – she helped us seamlessly with one small matter. The location is within walking distance of everything, and near all amenities. Overall, a very pleasant stay (again).

Stayed June 2015

by MHoffmanNYC

“Wonderful Experience”

We love this hotel. It is beautiful, the staff are professional and friendly, and the beds comfy. The location made it a great “landing place” during our three day stay. We ate at both the Eastern Standard and the Island Creek Oyster Bar restaurants and the food was excellent

Stayed June 2015

by Kate P

“BU Orientation”

The location was excellent and the service was impeccable. We will stay there often in the future. The linens were top quality. The room and bathroom were spacious. The style and furnishings were high class

Stayed June 2015

by Christine R

“Favorite Hotel in Boston”

Hotel Commonwealth was a second choice for me as I made my business travel plans. I am so thankful that my first choice was unavailable! I wont stay at another hotel in Boston, ever again. On property restaurants and bars all offered exceptional meals and service. Room was gorgeous. Staff was pleasant. Very satisfied with my experience and excited to return in September!

Stayed June 2015

by annecraddo 

“Perfect Place to Stay”

My husband and I had a wonderful experience the past three days at Hotel Commonwealth! The staff was very friendly and very accommodating! It’s the perfect place to stay if you’re in Boston for a baseball game . . . right around the corner is Fenway Park! Also, there are two great restaurants in the hotel. They went above and beyond our expectations! We would definitely highly recommend Hotel Commonwealth! We plan to visit there again!

Stayed June 2015

by Tammy A

“Boston at its Best”

Here for a 2 day trip, wished it was longer. Great staff, clean rooms, comfortable bedding. Great accommodations, and loved the room’s “tablet”. Island Creek Oyster Bar and Eastern Standard restaurant attached to the hotel are some of the top rated in Boston, and never fail to disappoint. Amazing Kenmore location, close to the T, and steps away from great nightlife and Fenway Park. Loved that even in the hustle and bustle of the city, I could step in, and feel both calm and well rested. Felt like home. Front desk was willing to hold my bag after check out as I wandered the city for a few hours before it was time for me to board and head home, which is once again, them going above and beyond to make sure my stay was as smooth as possible

Stayed June 2015

by Tina T

“First Class Place and People”

We’ve stayed here may times over the years when we drive up from Connecticut to a Red Sox game. They’ve recently renovated everything, and it’s even nicer. Everyone is always very welcoming and accommodating without overdoing it. It’s pricey, but once in a while it’s just worth it.

Stayed June 2015

by J John

“Great Location in Boston”

Always a great place to stay for business or pleasure, hotel decor is very nice and lobby/rooms are very clean. Great location, right near Fenway with easy access to downtown Boston and neighboring burbs. Walking distance to running trails along Storrow Drive/Charles River.

Stayed June 2015

by Brian M

“Perfect Stay at the Hotel Commonwealth”

My husband and I spent a week at the Hotel Commonwealth the last week of May 2015. The experience was wonderful. We booked the Reading Suite and the Red Sox Monster package. The suite was everything that was advertised and more. It was spacious and the furnishings were so comfortable. We were greeted with the “Red Sox inspired gift” that came with the Monster package, as well as, great tickets in the Green Monster and a tour of the stadium. The bookcase was filled with books and there were about a dozen magazines for every taste. Having three establishments with food and bar was so convenient. We had most of our meals at the hotel. After a day of sightseeing, it was great to have delicious food so close. We also used room service and as with everything else, the food and service were commendable. Lastly, but certainly, not least, were the staff at the Hotel Commonwealth. The staff was so accommodating. The doormen were always friendly as you passed them and were able to get a cab at a moment’s notice. The housekeeping staff did a wonderful job keeping the suite clean and fully stocked with supplies. At the concierge desk, the staff was always willing to go the extra step to help us with questions, tours, etc. Although we found all the staff great, there were two concierge that stood out, Nick and Sean. Sean was there for us answering the million and one questions we had. And Nick went above and beyond to insure that we enjoyed all the benefits of the Monster Package. He also helped by setting us up on some tours. But most of all, both Nick and Sean made us feel like valuable guests. We would recommend the Hotel Commonwealth to families, couples and business guests

Stayed May 2015

by nolatraveler2013

“Great Stay!”

Our experience at Hotel Commonwealth exceeded our expectations in every way!! From the minute we walked in, the staff was very friendly and attentive. They gave our little boy a baseball and remembered him by name each time we came and left. My parents were celebrating their 20 year wedding anniversary and received a special surprise in their room on the night of their anniversary. The staff was truly so thoughtful.

The location of the hotel is outstanding for seeing a game at Fenway. It’s literally a 5 minute walk to the park. It’s also fairly close to the back Bay Area, about a 20-25 minute walk. Steps from the hotel entrance is the subway system which makes getting anywhere in Boston simple.

The rooms were great. Clean and spacious. Beds were comfy and the AC worked well. There’s a fridge in the room and rather than being filled with hotel items for purchase, it is left empty so you can store whatever you would like.

We were “wowed” throughout our stay and would highly recommend the hotel to anyone

Stayed June 2015

by boogieandwoogie 

“Wicked Fun”

Family of five from Philly on a first trip to Boston couldn’t have asked for a warmer, friendlier experience. Bell hops greeted us with first names and steered us to the best places to eat and visit. Smiling staff went above and beyond and even honored our kids’ request for hot chocolate cups for the in-room coffee maker with a special run to Dunkin’ Donuts. We look forward to future visits to HC and hopefully to see the Sox win!

Stayed June 2015

by Learynorth 

“Red Sox and Red Fire”

We had a wonderful time during our 2 days in Boston. The room was very nice and very clean.Very convenient to the subway station and bus line. The service from the staff was exceptional. Jeff, the head doorman was so friendly and even stopped traffic for us to get our of our parking space, My husband left his cell phone in the car after it was valeted and they returned it to our room within 15 minutes. Would definately stay there again

Stayed June 2015

by Bobiemalki 

“Weekend Get Away”

We came for our anniversary, and had an excellent get away. The hotel staff and room were both great. And I HIGHLY recommend the Eastern Standard. We ate dinner and brunch there. The staff there were also excellent, but the food and specialty cocktails were excellent. We would definitely return if we were staying in Boston again.

Stayed June 2015

by Meaghan K

“Nice Quiet Stay”

We had a nice stay over the weekend for the Red Sox game. Our room was very quiet, bed very comfortable, room was very clean and nicely appointed. Staff was very helpful and restaurants nearby are very good. I’d highly recommend this hotel

Stayed June 2015

by bossportsfan

“Outstanding Staff!!”

The hotel is very well situated, simply luxurious, recently renovated and very welcoming lobby area, connected to two fabulous restaurants, excellent valet parking and bell staff, and and absolutely fabulous team at the front desk! Ophelia and Nick are phenomenal: friendly, efficient, courteous, helpful. The perfect front desk staff! That makes return visits pure pleasure.

Stayed June 2015

by Timothy B


Excellent accomodations. Hotel is walking distsnce to Fenway and shopping. Staff is extremely friendly and courteous. Rooms and hotel are very clean. Beautiful welcome basket waiting in the room. Would definitely book again. Would highly recommend for any kind of stay.

Stayed June 2015

by Lee-Anne S

“A Home Run”

We just returned from 5 days in Boston as guest of the Hotel Commonwealth. My daughter and I traveled there from a rural community on the West Coast, and put a lot of research into where to stay. We couldn’t be more pleased with our decision to stay at the Commonwealth. It begins and ends at the front desk where the friendly and exceptional staff ensures that your experience is positive, and your requests are met from the opening pitch, until the last ball. (Excuse the metaphor, we’re baseball fans.) We found all the staff helpful with our subway questions, events and tours, but were especially impressed with Shawn. We expressed an interest in traveling to Plymouth Rock- he went over all our travel options and then arranged to have a rental car delivered to the hotel for our convenience. It couldn’t have been made easier. Yes, the rooms are immaculate, the bedding comfortable, the robes luxurious, and the keurig coffee the best idea ever. All this was great to come back to after an activity- filled day. With the “T” conveniently located next door, and walking directions provided by the staff, we were able to see everything we wanted on what I consider a trip of a lifetime. We toured Fenway Park, and saw a game, walked the Freedom Trail, did the Old Town Trolley Tour, walked Newbury Street, saw Harvard, took the Harbor Cruise, went to Cheers, McGreevy’s, the Commons, The North End, and Copley Square, just to name a few. Thank-you Shawn, and the rest of the front desk staff for seeing that we had the most wonderful time in your beautiful city.

Stayed May 2015

By Curley’s F


“We Will Always Stay at the Commonwealth When in Boston…”

We have been coming to The Commonwealth now for the past 3-4 years. The stay only gets better each time. So accommodating. So personal. So so genuine….I wish I could name all of the people that made this trip, but to keep it short and sweet. Our doorman Frankie, who we had a brief conversation with, sent us a bottle of Champagne for no certain reason. Besides a perfect room every stay, 2 of the most fabulous restaurants, Eastern Standard and Island Creek Oyster bar, The Commonwealth stands in front of Fenway Park in a town filled with the most friendly of people. We highly suggest when in Boston to stay at The Commonwealth. Tell them Stephen and Cindy sent ya….

Stayed May 2015

by Stephen P

“Outstanding Every Time!”

We always try to stay at the Commonwealth when in Boston and always have a wonderful experience when we do. The staff is friendly, helpful and efficient. The rooms are comfortable, clean, spacious, and the beds and pillows are amazing. The on-site restaurants are great, and Fenway is a stone’s throw away. It is also only a few blocks to Newbury St., shopping malls and a wide variety of restaurants. If you want to travel a bit further, there is a T station just in front of the hotel. They have recently redecorated, and I love the change. During busy times it can be difficult to book a room, but they are building an addition which will add 95 more rooms (I think that’s the number…). I can’t wait to see the finished product!

Stayed May 2015

by pjrinvt 

“A Wonderful and Enjoyable Stay”

Good location, big clean rooms, a very inviting lobby and very professional staff. We had a great two night stay, with the shopping district in walking distance and the hub for bike rental in front of the hotel (perfect for heading downtown).

Stayed May 2015

by Remon-Peggy 

“Me. New Orleans”

We initially chose the hotel Commonwealth because of its proximity to Fenway, as we were in Boston to see a Red Sox game, and it was perfect for that purpose. We are walking people and love architecture so we found the location of the hotel perfect to see some of the areas history. The hotel is located in a very nice part of the town near New Berry Street. All of the staff at the hotel were very kind and helpful. The room had taller ceilings than most hotels we have been to. The height if the ceilings makes the room feel more spacious. When we wandered too far from the hotel and the walk back was going to take too long, the hotel was conveniently locate on the “T”, Boston’s rail line transportation. The price of the room was fair for the quality of the accommodations and on our next trip to Boston, we will be returning to the Hotel Commonwealth

Stayed May 2015


“Location and Quality is Clearly the Best of Boston!”

We recently Stayed at the Hotel Commonwealth as we were in town for a Red Sox game. You can see Fenway from our hotel room. The location could not have been better. The rooms are large, updated, and the bedding is awesome.

We dined in the Eastern Standard restaurant (attached to the hotel). The food and service was excellent.

Valet parking was so convenient as parking is at a premium in Boston, especially in this area of town. I recommend this hotel without reservation and we will always stay here!

Stayed May 2015

by chris d

“Our Stay at The Commonwealth”

We came to Boston to see a Red Sox game. We arrived at The Commonwealth around three. Pulled up in front. Our car was valeted, luggage brought to our room and we were checked in in a matter of minutes. We had a great room with a view of the city. We asked for dinner suggestions and ate at the Capital Grille. Perfect spot, within walking distance. It was a perfect overnight stay, with the exception of the Sox losing! I can’t wait to stay again.

Stayed May 2015

by Dori M

“Wonderful Surprise!”

My wife and I headed down to Boston this weekend to celebrate our 10th wedding anniversary. We started off our weekend with a little surprise from the hotel staff when we returned from the Red Sox game. It was a wonderful. Thank you. They were very pleasant to deal with and the room was great. We had a great view city from our Junior Suite. I would definitely stay there again, especially after going to a Red Sox game. The hotel is right there, and it is so much better than going home late. It is a great place to start a weekend trip. The subway is out front making it easy to get around the city. 5 star service and great value!

Stayed May 2015

by Jim R

“Great Rooms and Even Better Service”

Visited with my teenage son and two of his friends for a Red Sox game. Location is great – a short and pleasant walk to Fenway. Suites were very nicely decorated. Everyone from hotel we interacted with was friendly, helpful and effective. Anika at front desk was super. We will be returning soon

Stayed May 2015

by reba f

“Updated Gem in Kenmore Square”

I recently returned to the Hotel Commonwealth which has completed an extensive update of its common areas and rooms. Gone are the classic Euro-style pillars and gold leaf, replaced by a chic yet comfortable modern style. The lobby has the most significant changes, resulting in a lot more separate seating areas. The rooms likewise have been updated – gone are the heavy white wood furniture, and the rooms seemed brighter to me. The hotel staff is incredibly accomodating, and I espectially appreciated the attention they showed to my family. Still a gem, now updated. I will be back!

Stayed May 2015

by DrWhoDallas

“Lovely Stay”

Great service. Great location. Superb bar downstairs. Went back 3 days later to the bar and the waiter remembered what drinks my colleague and I had! Lovely comfortable room. Was perfect for our trip.

Stayed May 2015

by 01shortie

“Impeccable Service, Great Location”

Hotel Commonwealth is a luxurious hotel in a great location in the heart of Boston. Very convenient to restaurants, shopping and transportation, not to mention a stone’s throw from Fenway Park. One of the hotel’s greatest strengths is impeccable guest services. Customer service throughout the hotel is top notch and the staff is quick to make things right. This is my first choice whenever I need to stay in Boston.

Stayed May 2015

by Ernie C

“Boston City Break”

Hotel location excellent on Commonwealth Avenue which must be one of the most pleasant city streets in the world. Also located immediately adjacent to subway station and Starbucks restaurant. Hotel has excellent street side restaurant which caters mostly for non resident customers and serves meals till 1.00 am. Good opportunity to meet Boston people and experience Boston atmosphere.

Stayed May 2015

By Raymond

“Best Big City Stay”

Overall best location for shopping, touring, entertainment and getting to Logan Airport. So much in walking distance. Exceptionally, helpful staff at any hour of the day. The rooms were spacious and super clean.

Stayed May 2015

by Wendy F

“Experience with Hotel Commonwealth, Boston”

Had a very pleasent experience staying at Hotel Commomwealth between 30th April to 11th May’2015. The hotel is very well located, close to lanmarks such as Fenway Park & Boston University campus for Questrom business school. The hotel staff were always helpful & the facilities worked perfectly

Stayed May 2015

by Sudarshan S

“Excellent Service”

Rooms are comfortable (a bit small, but this is a city) — but what really sets this hotel apart is the stellar front desk/ concierge service. Helpful, polite, cheerful. It’s also really really nice having high quality restaurants right in the hotel. We dined at Eastern Standard the first night and had a wonderful evening; and how terrific, after a local-batch gin martini and a bottle of white burgundy (with dinner, of course!!) – to just head up the stairs to the hotel elevator and right to your room. Location was also very good; a short walk to the Boston Museum of Fine Arts, and of course, Fenway. Not an inexpensive option, but if you’re looking for comfort, convenience, and a high quality experience, this is a spot you should consider.

Stayed May 2015

by Astilbe_Arendsii

“Another Great Stay at Hotel Commonwealth”

I’ve been staying at HC over the last year since my daughter was accepted and now attends BU. Each and every stay has been a great experience and you know when you show up and the same staff is there to greet you, it’s a great place to work. From the moment I pull up and am usually greeted by Frankie and the valet/bellhop staff to the team in the lobby (Jeff & Emily) and everything in between, it’s a terrific experience. Everyone is so friendly and helpful and they really make an effort to make your stay memorable

Stayed May 2015

by Cara M

“College Visit”

We came up for what seemed at first a short business trip: college visits. Our stay was very pleasant especially with the super cordial staff from the valet out front to the front desk, with the comfortable and luscious room and with the added amenity of the Eastern Standard restaurant, connected to the hotel. Fenway ball park is located right behind the hotel. Another added plus.

Stayed May 2015

by carino45

“Clean, convenient, graciously staffed hotel”

Had a 3-night stay here while attending a convention last weekend. I was very pleased. Every single staff member I encountered was friendly and gracious. The room was spacious, immaculately cleaned on arrival and daily. The bed was super comfortable and they provided plenty of comfortable pillows. A leather couch that converts into a sleeper was available if you are sharing the room. For Red Sox fans traveling to Boston,Fenway Park is a 5 minute walk. If you desire to travel anywhere else in Boston/Cambridge, the Kenmore Square T/bus stop is literally just out the door

Stayed April 2015

by Alec R

“Great facility, great location, great staff”

My teenage son and I stayed here recently when looking at colleges in the area. The location could not have been better – across the street from BU, up the Green Line from BC and one block from Fenway! The rooms were elegant and well-taken care of. Most important, the staff were consistently among the most helpful and friendly I’ve met anywhere

Stayed April 2015

by jerseytom



“Boston Marathon – 2015 Stay”

So happy we chose this hotel for our Boston Marathon trip this year. Hotel was amazingly accommodating, we had 2 people who could not leave the hotel to find our runner due to age and weather AND they still saw our runner pass right by the hotel windows!!!! Amazing staff, amazing people, amazing food and bars ALL right in the hotel. Located less than 2 miles from the commons where you drop your runner, next to Fenway park, 10 steps from the Metra (to get on and find your runner!) AND in walking distance from anything you need! Great stay!

Stayed April 2015

by Dana O

“Beautiful hotel”

We stayed at the Hotel Commonwealth the day of the Boston Marathon which was also a big birthday celebration for me and my boyfriend. Our room was beautiful, the staff was very friendly and you can’t beat the location for enjoying a Red Sox game and cheering on the runners. The oyster bar/restaurant was a terrific way to end the day. Great food. Thanks again

Stayed April 2015

by Martina L

“Walk to Fenway, sleep in luxury.”

We always stay at the Commonwealth- the rooms are super spacious with all the amenities you could want. The beds are wonderful and air conditioning perfect. We love the adjoining restaurant and bar, lively atmosphere and great food. You can walk to the ball park and it’s close to dozens of popular places including the T, Boston’s subway. This place is a little bit pricy, but oh so worth every penny.

Stayed April 2015

by Moondr 

“Great stay. Great Location”

Up in Boston for the Marathon. Extremely friendly staff and great location. Easy walk to Fenway. Right across from entrance to T. Dog friendly to boot! Would recommend to friends and definitely stay again.

Stayed April 2015

by Barry O

“Stayed in Boston for my birthday, sox game and dinner”

Excellent hotel, beautiful rooms, very comfortable bed, great location and very nice and helpful staff. The location is perfect! there are two excellent restaurants on the property and the Hawthorne Lounge is a fun place to have a drink. What more could you ask for! Can’t wait to stay again!

Stayed April 2015

by susan w

“Great location with warm and welcoming staff”

We would absolutely stay here again! The staff was very helpful and polite, our room looked exactly as the photo showed and the location was perfect! The room was a very nice size, had comfortable beds and nice linens. We walked to BU for a college tour, Fenway for a baseball game and walked to Back Bay. We did not get in our car until it was time to go home.

Stayed April 2015

by LisaSmithNewJersey

“Another great stay!!!”

Have stayed at Hotel Commonwealth several times and once again I was impressed. The staff is incredibly friendly and helpful. They are probably my favorite part of visiting this hotel. The truly make you feel at home. Love the newly refurbished lobby!

Stayed April 2015

by skogger

“My favorite place to stay in Boston”

I cannot say enough pleasant things about this hotel. I have faithfully chosen Hotel Commonwealth as my hotel for personal and business travel over the past 3 years and will never look any further for accommodations.

Service is impeccable, seriously an exceptionally high standard of service. From housekeeping, to the front desk, bellmen, doormen, etc. You will feel like you are being taken care of. The hotel is located directly across from Kenmore square which places you right next to Fenway if you want to catch a game, immediately next to two of the finest restaurants in Boston, and in front of a central hub for subway and other city transportation.

I love my breakfasts at the eastern standard and being able to hop on the T to get to Copley or downtown in just a few minutes. I also like that Dana-Farber is a short cab or bus ride away (I spend a lot of time at DFCI when I am in town and the bus access at Kenmore is another strategic decision for why I like this place so much; the best hotel with access to Brookline and Downtown Boston at your fingertips.) I love this place!

Stayed April 2015

by Blake A

“Hotel Commonwealth – so close to Boston University”

Our son goes to Boston university and lives near Allston so the Hotel Commonwealth’s location made it very easy to get to see him. I called on a Friday night to ask for help for a dinner reservation for nine people on Saturday and Jeff on the front desk was super nice. Said the Concierge was not around until the morning but he would be delighted to help and he did. Thank you. Our stay was great and our very large dog was greeted with excitement by the front desk. He got lots of hugs. Large hotel room with all the amenities that were needed. We have already booked our next trip.

Stayed April 2015

by sally C

 “Baseball Suite”

My wife and I booked a getaway night for her birthday and the Hotel Commonwealth didn’t disappoint. The front end staff greeted us right when we entered the door and was very pleasant and helpful. The suite was fantastic. It was spotless and the decor was great. It was nice to see how much pride they take in the customer service aspect of their business. Within 10 minutes of checking in the front desk called the room to make sure everything was satisfactory. It was a very relaxing weekend and they took great care of us. There was convenient access to the restaurants so you don’t have to leave the hotel if you don’t want to. We will definitely be coming back to the Hotel Commonwealth in the future.

Stayed April 2015

by Matthew B

 “My favorite hotel in Boston! Superb service and dining options.”

I’ve stayed at the Hotel Commonwealth four times, and now I can’t stay anywhere else when I’m in Boston. The front desk staff is absolutely stellar, friendly, geniunely helpful, and a pleasure to deal with. The same is true for the housekeeping and room service staff that I encountered. The hotel also has three top-notch dining/cocktailing options (Eastern Standard, the Hawthorne, and Island Creek Oyster Bar) which make this hotel a little slice of heaven for me. Can’t recommend it highly enough!

*Also, there’s an entrance to the T (subway) just steps from the front door. How convenient is that?

Stayed April 2015

by JMBlackie

 “lovely hotel”

This is one of the better hotels in the US, the staff was wodnerful upon arrival – then I left some belongings upon departure and they attended to gettting them to me as soon as possible, especially notable housekeeping head and front office manager – thanks you very much highly recommended.

Stayed March 2015 

by anista c

 “Great stay at this hotel!”

The front desk is excellent!! Special shout out to Nick for all your help!!! I love this hotel, this was our second visit and both have been a great experience. Great location for college visits. Thanks for making our stay a pleasent one.

Stayed March 2015

by Robert M

“My favorite hotel in Boston”

I visit Boston every other month for business meetings. I’ve stayed at Taj, Hyatt and Commonwealth during the last three years. Commonwealth stands out by the excellent room conditions and service. I’ve since always chose to stay at Commonwealth for my trip to Boston. The lobby is nothing fancy but the room is spotless, bed is very comfortable, everything (furniture, towels, shampoo, etc.) is of very good quality. In comparison, Hyatt was too old and shabby. Taj is pretty good but the shower water is not warm enough for me.

Commownealth is great from all perspectives. Cab fare to Back Bay or Harvard medical school is less than $10. At Commonwealth I often got free upgrade to a one bedroom suite or junior suite. Both were gorgeous! The 1 BR suite has huge living room and beautiful deco.

Stayed March 2015

by Jane L

 “Excellent Stay”

We recently booked an Executive Suite for my friend’s Bachelorette weekend. Upon arrival we were upgraded to the Loft Suite free of charge. It was double the size and made the weekend so much more memorable. We made plans to go out that evening, but the Bride said she would have been just as happy staying in the beautiful suite for the night with friends. The room left nothing to be desired with a large dining area, seating area with a fireplace, wine fridge, and pool table. The staff at Hotel Commonwealth were amazing. They brought additional sheets to our room after midnight and allowed us to check out of the room 2 hours late. I would highly recommend this hotel.

Stayed March 2015

by kmauch


“Top-notch service”

I want to first start out by saying that I travel a lot for work. I’ve stayed at many high-end hotels throughout the country and Hotel Commonwealth is now one of the top hotels on my list. Really – top notch!

The hotel is currently renovating, but it certainly doesn’t take away from the experience. I’m excited to see what the entrance will look like after the work is done. The hotel is right around the corner from Fenway, restaurants, bars, you name it. Just a perfect location in Boston.

The check-in process was easy and all the people we came in contact with were a delight! They were extremely friendly and accommodating.

All the valet men we interacted with were also very professional and just so nice to be around.

Kindness and positivity really does go a long way!

Stayed March 2015

By AbbeyWS

“Short but perfect stay”

My daughter and I stayed at the Commonwealth Hotel for one night when we were in Boston to see my son’s thesis/one man show at the BU School of Theater. We wanted two queen beds, but they could not accommodate us because there were too many similar requests. Instead, we were upgraded to a small suite with a  very comfortable and large pull out sofa bed. the room was large and beautiful. The bathroom was clean and perfect. The service was terrific. I love staying at this hotel and have done so 5 or 6 times while my son has been at BU>

Stayed March 2015
By Ann S


They made my first visit to Boston a hassle free experience.  The room was amazing and oh so comfy, the staff was attentive and courteous, making my anxiousness over my interview become nonexistent. Will definitely come back.

Stayed February 2015
By SamanthaMedina

“Great experience for Valentine’s Wedding”

Our family and friends booked 10 rooms. Guests were 1 to 89 years old. In connection with a family wedding on Valentines’ Day during what ended up as another big snow event for Boston. All the staff were very helpful and welcoming especially the concierge who assisted with baby crib, foldaway cot, microwave, and transportation to/from BU’s March Chapel. Room service was very prompt in spite of weather and food arrived well prepared and hotel! Adjacent two restaurants Eastern Standard and Island Creek Oyster Bar were both very good, just steps away from lobby. Would not hesitate to recommend to anyone needing accommodation in Boston.

Stayed February 2015
By KnittingKitty

“Winter Wonderland”

My daughter and I had the best experience (again) staying at the Commonwealth this past week. Given the weather conditions outside 96 feet of snow!!) all the staff was so gracious and happy to serve. This isn’t the first time for us at the hotel but every time we come back our experience is world class. Since our daughter goes to BU, the location is ideal as it is close to Newbury St and downtown great food, sightseeing, and shopping. If you want even better treatment, wear your Red Sox cap!

Stayed February 2015
By Michael W

“Will definitely stay here next visit!”

We stayed at this hotel for 5 days for a family wedding. It couldn’t have been better.  The staff was incredibly hospitable and constantly at our service. The staff was attentive to our needs. We had our 16 month old with us for the stay and I’d recommend staying in the junior suite. It’s a large area and they set up a crib for him. I will definitely be staying here next time!

Stayed February 2015
By Sarah_Texas50

“Valentine’s Blizzard Weekend”

My husband booked a room at the Hotel Commonwealth as a surprise for Valentine’s Day. We were int he Rathskeller Suite. Any rock and roll buff would love it just for all the memorabilia in the suite. But the little touches made it an incredibly memorable weekend. From the complimentary red rose and Prosecco to the specialty folded towels to the wonderfully hospitable staff, we felt like treasured guests. This spread not just throughout the hotel staff but to the associated restaurants. we had equally wonderful experience at Eastern Standard , Island Creek Oyster Bar, and The Hawthorne. To have such amazing restaurants literally net door to our accommodations, especially during a blizzard, was wonderful!

Stayed February 2015
By Jan M

“Great hotel in a great location”

In my recent visit to Boston, I stayed in Hotel Commonwealth. The location is great, right in the heart of Boston and on top of a T-Station, which makes it very easy to get around the city. I also visited one of the restaurants at the hotel (Island Creek Oyster Bar), the food was great and service excellent! Overall, the hotel was great. I can certainly see myself visiting again.

Stayed February 2015
By Aussie_Allen

“Great People +Great Location = Great Hotel”

My wife and I stayed at the Hotel Commonwealth recently and were pleased. The staff was first class, very polite and enthusiastic. We used the valet car service because the young man who greeted us was extremely helpful and ready to please. The room was spacious and well appointed.

The bathroom was clean, neat and sparkling. This hotel is undergoing a major addition (96 rooms) and renovation (lobby) during a most difficult winter with class. The front desk was 100% behind the expansion and sincerely projected confidence and pride in the work being done. I would highly recommend staying at the Hotel Commonwealth when visiting Boston, especially if you are a baseball fan. Ask for a fifth floor room (off numbered) and you’ll see Fenway park which is directly across the street. The location of the hotel includes a T stop which is very convenient if you use the public transportation system. Overall, this place is a winner.

Stayed February 2015
By pistol53

“Another Great Stay!”

Over the past five years, I have had the pleasure of staying at this hotel about eight different times. Every visit has been wonderful. The hotel has gradually gone through some style changes that have resulted in a more modern look, (yes I do like others sort of miss the previous style of the hallways and rooms), but the bottom line is the service is still excellent, the rooms are bright and clean, and the hotel location is superb! I’m sure the new look will grow on me. There is just something about this hotel that feels so welcoming. We wouldn’t want to stay anywhere but the Hotel Commonwealth! If you get a chance, check out their fabulous restaurants! Fabulous!

Stayed January 2015
By jhbbmb11

“Superb Staff”

Hope you get Nick at check in. He is knowledgeable on things to do in the area. Had a room facing Kenmore Square and you could not hear cars or pedestrians. Why can’t hotels in NYC offer that!?!

Stayed January 2015
By Suzanne W

“Great getaway-Heidi & Pete”

My husband and I were looking for a nice getaway. Hotel Commonwealth far exceeded our wishes. Beautiful, clean rooms. Staff delightful. Great proximity to surrounding attractions. Highly recommended. A joining restaurant had delicious food.

Stayed January 2015
By Heidi S

“Highly enjoyable stay”

We found this hotel when bringing our daughter to Boston University, which is across the street from this hotel. Great location, the T stop is essentially a couple steps beyond the front door, rooms were clean, spacious and beautiful, service was excellent. Would stay here again.

Stayed January 2015
By ClarePMC

“Great Experience from Start to Finish”

This was my first time in Boston and I did some research ahead of time to find a great place to stay. The location is unbeatable and the amenities were also excellent. The hotel offers free morning car service anywhere in a two mile radius, which I was able to use for my interview. Oh and do not miss out on Island Creek Oyster Bar- it is rated as one of the best restaurants in Boston. What really makes the place special, however, is the fabulous service. Everyone from the doorman, front desk staff, and housekeeping was accommodating and extremely friendly. Jeff, in particular, went out of his way to make sure everything was perfect. I would stay here again in a heart beat and would recommend it to anyone.

Stayed January 2015
By 1535sara

“Best hotel in Boston”

Excellent location. Rooms were just perfect and the service is outstanding. I’ve stayed here three years in a row and will continue to only use this hotel while in Boston. Doesn’t get any better than the Hotel Commonwealth!

Stayed January 2015
By agnesfromtipperary

“Pampered- in Every Way”

Pampered- in every way. I was only at the Hotel Commonwealth for two nights but I wish it had been longer. The staff was friendly and welcoming from the doorman, front desk, room and housekeeping staff and everyone at Eastern Standard Restaurant. All our needs and wants were met and more. We stayed in the lovely library suite and I enjoyed browsing through dozens of books and magazines as I relaxed on the window seat chaise sipping hot tea. The suite was beautiful, impeccably clean, comfortable and charming. The shower amenities from Italy and the luxurious robe added to my feeling pampered. The restaurant served amazing food and drinks. But aside from all the comfortable surroundings and food- it was the staff that will make you want to come back again and again. They all truly seemed to enjoy their jobs and caring for their guests. That in itself was a delight.

Stayed January 2015
By Mary N.

“The place to stay if you are in Boston.”

Comfortable and well furnished rooms featuring local history; best pillows! the staff was friendly and attentive and went above and beyond; fantastic wait staff at the hotel lounge. Our second and not last visit.

Stayed December 2014
By Andriaki

“Location and service were great!”

Stayed on this hotel last July.  Absolutely loved the location, view of our room, and the service. The price I paid for this hotel is a little high up there in comparison to my normal choice of lodging, nevertheless, it was a good experience. I think this is the best hotel to stay at around the Fenway Park.

Stayed December 2014
By Athenatc

“Tremendous Hotel”

We came for our first visit to Boston from Reykavik, Iceland. We booked the hotel because of it’s reviews on line. It was better than we imagined. We had our 5 months old baby son with us and we had the most wonderful time at the hotel. The room was excellent with great bed, very clean and excellent sleeping quality. We staff wanted to do everything to help us and make our life easier. We rented a car through the hotel and it was very good. The people at the front desk was wonderful form day one.  In fact, everybody was wonderful that worked in the hotel. the hotel has an excellent place for breakfast, Eastern Standard and is very cozy to sit there and have dinner. We will for sure be back at Hotel Commonwealth in the near future when we come back to Boston. I would highly recommend the hotel to other visitors. 5 stars for me.

Stayed December 2014
By Gunnar J

“Top notch hotel”

When planning our trip to Boston, I booked our stay at this hotel not knowing anything about the hotel other than reading some reviews and viewing their website. I was very pleased with our location and accommodations. Our Commonwealth Suite was very roomy, elegant, quiet and recently renovated. I highly recommend the adjoining restaurant, Eastern Standard. The hotel is near great shopping on Newbury Street, bus and subway lines and wonderful sightseeing destinations. Above all, everyone was very friendly and helpful.

Stayed November 2014
By Pamela S

“Great little gem”

Love, love, love this hotel!We stayed an entire week in a beautifully appointed suite. It was spacious and perfect for a family of four. The staff was friendly, helpful and very accommodating. Great food and ambiance at Eastern Standard next door. Centrally located, and steps away from the “T.” We will definitely be back!

Stayed November 2014
By 5wanderlusts

“Making a business trip a total pleasure”

We had another wonderful stay at the Hotel Commonwealth. Work trip for me but pleasure for my husband. The rooms are awesome but the staff deserves all the credit, especially Sean, Nick and Jeff. Very welcoming and gracious. Love that the hotel was centrally located for sight seeing. Beautiful city. We loved it!!!

Stayed November 2014
By Karlyne C

“Beautiful hotel centrally located”

I had a very short stay in the lovely, comfortable Hotel Commonwealth and would recommend it to anyone. I wish I could have stayed there longer! The room was very quiet, no sound drifts from elsewhere. There’s a fridge in the room which is very handy, especially for transatlantic travelers likely to wake in the small hours wanting breakfast! However, there is also 24 hour room service.

Stayed November 2014
By Lily Rory

“Quaint and Charming”

A Hilton Gold member, I have stayed in a no. of Hilton Hotels in the Boston area over the years, but no longer! The Commonwealth was a wonderful step back in time with keen, tasteful attention to details that the chains have long betrayed. If you want to stay in a really centrally located Back Bay luxury hotel, the Commonwealth should be your first choice. It’s highly professional staff and lovely, well appointed and quiet rooms make it an exceptional Boston hotel. It will in future be my first choice while in Boston.

Stayed November 2014
By David C

“I may be spoiled for all other Boston hotels”

Everything about my stay was excellent. Of course, it is hard complain when your stay begins with a room upgrade, but that is not why I am so pleased with my stay. Everyone on the staff was fantastic- from the doorman and valet to the front desk and housekeeping.

My room, a junior suite, was beautiful, spacious, and incredibly comfortable. the area was great for a morning run and the evening dining (Island Creek) and drink (Hawthorne) options should not be missed.

I will be back, but not soon enough.

Stayed November 2014
By acciodogs

“The best hotel in Boston”

I stay in many hotels across the US and can honestly say this hotel has them all licked for service and the quality of the staff. Everyone is always only too willing to help and always smiling. VIP service all around. I’ve stayed at a lot of different hotels in Boston over the years and can say honestly that this is the best.

Stayed November 2014
By Colin H

“Fun,mid-week stay!”

Our return to the Hotel Commonwealth far exceeded any expectations (which were already set high from previous stays there). From the moment we pulled up to the front door, we were treated like royalty…even with a pre-schooler in tow! We were given a free room upgrade which blew our minds away- the new “Rat” suite, dedicated to the legendary punk club in Kenmore Square…beyond awesome considering we were headed to a concert later in the evening. The room was amazing rock memorabilia! Our daughter was also given a teddy bear by one of the hotel staff as a “welcome!” The hotel has been renovated very recently, and the rooms are VERY clean and modern, but not “over the top” weird modern. Dinner (and breakfast) at Eastern Standard is always a favorite stop for my wife and me. The hotel is a perfect place to stay if catching a game at Fenway or going to a nearby concert (House of Blue, Brighton Music Hall, Paradise Rock Club, ect). Room service was professional and timely. It’s not a matter of IF, but rather, of WHEN we will return to a stay! A++++!

Stayed November 2014
By Charles T

“Excellent Stay”

Stayed here with my wife for a few days at the end of October for her birthday and have to say the hotel lives up to its great reviews. Room, staff, restaurants, location, all good and easy to access to everywhere we wanted to go in Boston, with the Prudential center shops and newbury street all within an easy 10 minute walk. Worth the money for the views from the top of the Prudential center and also enjoyed the old town trolley bus tours. If you want a hotel right in the center then go for it but the Commonwealth in my opinion is located a little away from the hustle and bustle in a very nice and handy location.

Stayed November 2014
By skymanpaul

“Sales Kick-Off Meeting”

We had a perfect 4 days at the hotel@ Every year we book our Corporate Sales Meeting at Hotel Commonwealth. We typically stay Monday-Thursday. We occupy all of the conference rooms for our program and meetings and book a signification number of hotel rooms for employees and vendors.

Every year it’s amazing and extraordinary but this year it was absolutely perfect! The food and incredible, the service impeccable. They took care of all of our business needs from accommodating extra vendors, set-up with the production and film crew, setting up the gift bags and advertiser display banners. They even picked the menus and the food was out of this world! They treated us like GOLD!!!!

Our company has numerous events throughout the year at other venues in various locations but Hotel Commonwealth treats us the best by far. They have an amazing staff and resources.

I strongly suggest staying at the hotel. It’s lovely….I suggest you try the short ribs.

Stayed October 2014
By Crystal B

“Great unique luxurious rooms, hotel with a lot of character and style”

I’ve been staying here every week for business travel and so have seen many rooms after they updated them: with contemporary kitchen and gigantic love seat, 270 degree view of Prudential, Kenmore Square and BU, and Fenway Park… You can’t beat the location, outstanding service, high quality finishing and management of the hotel.  Restaurants nearby and a short walk to the river for a run or Newbury Street for shopping make it a perfect destination for a weekend trip or longer.  Highly recommend it.

Stayed October 2014
By OlgaH8