interior-slider-gallery
interior-slider-gallery

Reviews

tripadvisor-logo

TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence 2015 Winner


“Location and Quality is Clearly the Best of Boston!”

We recently Stayed at the Hotel Commonwealth as we were in town for a Red Sox game. You can see Fenway from our hotel room. The location could not have been better. The rooms are large, updated, and the bedding is awesome.

We dined in the Eastern Standard restaurant (attached to the hotel). The food and service was excellent.

Valet parking was so convenient as parking is at a premium in Boston, especially in this area of town. I recommend this hotel without reservation and we will always stay here!

Stayed May 2015

by chris d


“Our Stay at The Commonwealth”

We came to Boston to see a Red Sox game. We arrived at The Commonwealth around three. Pulled up in front. Our car was valeted, luggage brought to our room and we were checked in in a matter of minutes. We had a great room with a view of the city. We asked for dinner suggestions and ate at the Capital Grille. Perfect spot, within walking distance. It was a perfect overnight stay, with the exception of the Sox losing! I can’t wait to stay again.

Stayed May 2015

by Dori M


“Wonderful Surprise!”

My wife and I headed down to Boston this weekend to celebrate our 10th wedding anniversary. We started off our weekend with a little surprise from the hotel staff when we returned from the Red Sox game. It was a wonderful. Thank you. They were very pleasant to deal with and the room was great. We had a great view city from our Junior Suite. I would definitely stay there again, especially after going to a Red Sox game. The hotel is right there, and it is so much better than going home late. It is a great place to start a weekend trip. The subway is out front making it easy to get around the city. 5 star service and great value!

Stayed May 2015

by Jim R


“Great Rooms and Even Better Service”

Visited with my teenage son and two of his friends for a Red Sox game. Location is great – a short and pleasant walk to Fenway. Suites were very nicely decorated. Everyone from hotel we interacted with was friendly, helpful and effective. Anika at front desk was super. We will be returning soon

Stayed May 2015

by reba f


“Updated Gem in Kenmore Square”

I recently returned to the Hotel Commonwealth which has completed an extensive update of its common areas and rooms. Gone are the classic Euro-style pillars and gold leaf, replaced by a chic yet comfortable modern style. The lobby has the most significant changes, resulting in a lot more separate seating areas. The rooms likewise have been updated – gone are the heavy white wood furniture, and the rooms seemed brighter to me. The hotel staff is incredibly accomodating, and I espectially appreciated the attention they showed to my family. Still a gem, now updated. I will be back!

Stayed May 2015

by DrWhoDallas


“Lovely Stay”

Great service. Great location. Superb bar downstairs. Went back 3 days later to the bar and the waiter remembered what drinks my colleague and I had! Lovely comfortable room. Was perfect for our trip.

Stayed May 2015

by 01shortie


“Impeccable Service, Great Location”

Hotel Commonwealth is a luxurious hotel in a great location in the heart of Boston. Very convenient to restaurants, shopping and transportation, not to mention a stone’s throw from Fenway Park. One of the hotel’s greatest strengths is impeccable guest services. Customer service throughout the hotel is top notch and the staff is quick to make things right. This is my first choice whenever I need to stay in Boston.

Stayed May 2015

by Ernie C


“Boston City Break”

Hotel location excellent on Commonwealth Avenue which must be one of the most pleasant city streets in the world. Also located immediately adjacent to subway station and Starbucks restaurant. Hotel has excellent street side restaurant which caters mostly for non resident customers and serves meals till 1.00 am. Good opportunity to meet Boston people and experience Boston atmosphere.

Stayed May 2015

By Raymond


“Best Big City Stay”

Overall best location for shopping, touring, entertainment and getting to Logan Airport. So much in walking distance. Exceptionally, helpful staff at any hour of the day. The rooms were spacious and super clean.

Stayed May 2015

by Wendy F


“Experience with Hotel Commonwealth, Boston”

Had a very pleasent experience staying at Hotel Commomwealth between 30th April to 11th May’2015. The hotel is very well located, close to lanmarks such as Fenway Park & Boston University campus for Questrom business school. The hotel staff were always helpful & the facilities worked perfectly

Stayed May 2015

by Sudarshan S


“Excellent Service”

Rooms are comfortable (a bit small, but this is a city) — but what really sets this hotel apart is the stellar front desk/ concierge service. Helpful, polite, cheerful. It’s also really really nice having high quality restaurants right in the hotel. We dined at Eastern Standard the first night and had a wonderful evening; and how terrific, after a local-batch gin martini and a bottle of white burgundy (with dinner, of course!!) – to just head up the stairs to the hotel elevator and right to your room. Location was also very good; a short walk to the Boston Museum of Fine Arts, and of course, Fenway. Not an inexpensive option, but if you’re looking for comfort, convenience, and a high quality experience, this is a spot you should consider.

Stayed May 2015

by Astilbe_Arendsii


“Another Great Stay at Hotel Commonwealth”

I’ve been staying at HC over the last year since my daughter was accepted and now attends BU. Each and every stay has been a great experience and you know when you show up and the same staff is there to greet you, it’s a great place to work. From the moment I pull up and am usually greeted by Frankie and the valet/bellhop staff to the team in the lobby (Jeff & Emily) and everything in between, it’s a terrific experience. Everyone is so friendly and helpful and they really make an effort to make your stay memorable

Stayed May 2015

by Cara M


“College Visit”

We came up for what seemed at first a short business trip: college visits. Our stay was very pleasant especially with the super cordial staff from the valet out front to the front desk, with the comfortable and luscious room and with the added amenity of the Eastern Standard restaurant, connected to the hotel. Fenway ball park is located right behind the hotel. Another added plus.

Stayed May 2015

by carino45


“Clean, convenient, graciously staffed hotel”

Had a 3-night stay here while attending a convention last weekend. I was very pleased. Every single staff member I encountered was friendly and gracious. The room was spacious, immaculately cleaned on arrival and daily. The bed was super comfortable and they provided plenty of comfortable pillows. A leather couch that converts into a sleeper was available if you are sharing the room. For Red Sox fans traveling to Boston,Fenway Park is a 5 minute walk. If you desire to travel anywhere else in Boston/Cambridge, the Kenmore Square T/bus stop is literally just out the door

Stayed April 2015

by Alec R


“Great facility, great location, great staff”

My teenage son and I stayed here recently when looking at colleges in the area. The location could not have been better – across the street from BU, up the Green Line from BC and one block from Fenway! The rooms were elegant and well-taken care of. Most important, the staff were consistently among the most helpful and friendly I’ve met anywhere

Stayed April 2015

by jerseytom

 


 

“Boston Marathon – 2015 Stay”

So happy we chose this hotel for our Boston Marathon trip this year. Hotel was amazingly accommodating, we had 2 people who could not leave the hotel to find our runner due to age and weather AND they still saw our runner pass right by the hotel windows!!!! Amazing staff, amazing people, amazing food and bars ALL right in the hotel. Located less than 2 miles from the commons where you drop your runner, next to Fenway park, 10 steps from the Metra (to get on and find your runner!) AND in walking distance from anything you need! Great stay!

Stayed April 2015

by Dana O


“Beautiful hotel”

We stayed at the Hotel Commonwealth the day of the Boston Marathon which was also a big birthday celebration for me and my boyfriend. Our room was beautiful, the staff was very friendly and you can’t beat the location for enjoying a Red Sox game and cheering on the runners. The oyster bar/restaurant was a terrific way to end the day. Great food. Thanks again

Stayed April 2015

by Martina L


“Walk to Fenway, sleep in luxury.”

We always stay at the Commonwealth- the rooms are super spacious with all the amenities you could want. The beds are wonderful and air conditioning perfect. We love the adjoining restaurant and bar, lively atmosphere and great food. You can walk to the ball park and it’s close to dozens of popular places including the T, Boston’s subway. This place is a little bit pricy, but oh so worth every penny.

Stayed April 2015

by Moondr 


“Great stay. Great Location”

Up in Boston for the Marathon. Extremely friendly staff and great location. Easy walk to Fenway. Right across from entrance to T. Dog friendly to boot! Would recommend to friends and definitely stay again.

Stayed April 2015

by Barry O


“Stayed in Boston for my birthday, sox game and dinner”

Excellent hotel, beautiful rooms, very comfortable bed, great location and very nice and helpful staff. The location is perfect! there are two excellent restaurants on the property and the Hawthorne Lounge is a fun place to have a drink. What more could you ask for! Can’t wait to stay again!

Stayed April 2015

by susan w


“Great location with warm and welcoming staff”

We would absolutely stay here again! The staff was very helpful and polite, our room looked exactly as the photo showed and the location was perfect! The room was a very nice size, had comfortable beds and nice linens. We walked to BU for a college tour, Fenway for a baseball game and walked to Back Bay. We did not get in our car until it was time to go home.

Stayed April 2015

by LisaSmithNewJersey


“Another great stay!!!”

Have stayed at Hotel Commonwealth several times and once again I was impressed. The staff is incredibly friendly and helpful. They are probably my favorite part of visiting this hotel. The truly make you feel at home. Love the newly refurbished lobby!

Stayed April 2015

by skogger


“My favorite place to stay in Boston”

I cannot say enough pleasant things about this hotel. I have faithfully chosen Hotel Commonwealth as my hotel for personal and business travel over the past 3 years and will never look any further for accommodations.

Service is impeccable, seriously an exceptionally high standard of service. From housekeeping, to the front desk, bellmen, doormen, etc. You will feel like you are being taken care of. The hotel is located directly across from Kenmore square which places you right next to Fenway if you want to catch a game, immediately next to two of the finest restaurants in Boston, and in front of a central hub for subway and other city transportation.

I love my breakfasts at the eastern standard and being able to hop on the T to get to Copley or downtown in just a few minutes. I also like that Dana-Farber is a short cab or bus ride away (I spend a lot of time at DFCI when I am in town and the bus access at Kenmore is another strategic decision for why I like this place so much; the best hotel with access to Brookline and Downtown Boston at your fingertips.) I love this place!

Stayed April 2015

by Blake A


“Hotel Commonwealth – so close to Boston University”

Our son goes to Boston university and lives near Allston so the Hotel Commonwealth’s location made it very easy to get to see him. I called on a Friday night to ask for help for a dinner reservation for nine people on Saturday and Jeff on the front desk was super nice. Said the Concierge was not around until the morning but he would be delighted to help and he did. Thank you. Our stay was great and our very large dog was greeted with excitement by the front desk. He got lots of hugs. Large hotel room with all the amenities that were needed. We have already booked our next trip.

Stayed April 2015

by sally C


 “Baseball Suite”

My wife and I booked a getaway night for her birthday and the Hotel Commonwealth didn’t disappoint. The front end staff greeted us right when we entered the door and was very pleasant and helpful. The suite was fantastic. It was spotless and the decor was great. It was nice to see how much pride they take in the customer service aspect of their business. Within 10 minutes of checking in the front desk called the room to make sure everything was satisfactory. It was a very relaxing weekend and they took great care of us. There was convenient access to the restaurants so you don’t have to leave the hotel if you don’t want to. We will definitely be coming back to the Hotel Commonwealth in the future.

Stayed April 2015

by Matthew B


 “My favorite hotel in Boston! Superb service and dining options.”

I’ve stayed at the Hotel Commonwealth four times, and now I can’t stay anywhere else when I’m in Boston. The front desk staff is absolutely stellar, friendly, geniunely helpful, and a pleasure to deal with. The same is true for the housekeeping and room service staff that I encountered. The hotel also has three top-notch dining/cocktailing options (Eastern Standard, the Hawthorne, and Island Creek Oyster Bar) which make this hotel a little slice of heaven for me. Can’t recommend it highly enough!

*Also, there’s an entrance to the T (subway) just steps from the front door. How convenient is that?

Stayed April 2015

by JMBlackie


 “lovely hotel”

This is one of the better hotels in the US, the staff was wodnerful upon arrival – then I left some belongings upon departure and they attended to gettting them to me as soon as possible, especially notable housekeeping head and front office manager – thanks you very much highly recommended.

Stayed March 2015 

by anista c


 “Great stay at this hotel!”

The front desk is excellent!! Special shout out to Nick for all your help!!! I love this hotel, this was our second visit and both have been a great experience. Great location for college visits. Thanks for making our stay a pleasent one.

Stayed March 2015

by Robert M


“My favorite hotel in Boston”

I visit Boston every other month for business meetings. I’ve stayed at Taj, Hyatt and Commonwealth during the last three years. Commonwealth stands out by the excellent room conditions and service. I’ve since always chose to stay at Commonwealth for my trip to Boston. The lobby is nothing fancy but the room is spotless, bed is very comfortable, everything (furniture, towels, shampoo, etc.) is of very good quality. In comparison, Hyatt was too old and shabby. Taj is pretty good but the shower water is not warm enough for me.

Commownealth is great from all perspectives. Cab fare to Back Bay or Harvard medical school is less than $10. At Commonwealth I often got free upgrade to a one bedroom suite or junior suite. Both were gorgeous! The 1 BR suite has huge living room and beautiful deco.

Stayed March 2015

by Jane L


 “Excellent Stay”

We recently booked an Executive Suite for my friend’s Bachelorette weekend. Upon arrival we were upgraded to the Loft Suite free of charge. It was double the size and made the weekend so much more memorable. We made plans to go out that evening, but the Bride said she would have been just as happy staying in the beautiful suite for the night with friends. The room left nothing to be desired with a large dining area, seating area with a fireplace, wine fridge, and pool table. The staff at Hotel Commonwealth were amazing. They brought additional sheets to our room after midnight and allowed us to check out of the room 2 hours late. I would highly recommend this hotel.

Stayed March 2015

by kmauch

 


“Top-notch service”

I want to first start out by saying that I travel a lot for work. I’ve stayed at many high-end hotels throughout the country and Hotel Commonwealth is now one of the top hotels on my list. Really – top notch!

The hotel is currently renovating, but it certainly doesn’t take away from the experience. I’m excited to see what the entrance will look like after the work is done. The hotel is right around the corner from Fenway, restaurants, bars, you name it. Just a perfect location in Boston.

The check-in process was easy and all the people we came in contact with were a delight! They were extremely friendly and accommodating.

All the valet men we interacted with were also very professional and just so nice to be around.

Kindness and positivity really does go a long way!

Stayed March 2015

By AbbeyWS


“Short but perfect stay”

My daughter and I stayed at the Commonwealth Hotel for one night when we were in Boston to see my son’s thesis/one man show at the BU School of Theater. We wanted two queen beds, but they could not accommodate us because there were too many similar requests. Instead, we were upgraded to a small suite with a  very comfortable and large pull out sofa bed. the room was large and beautiful. The bathroom was clean and perfect. The service was terrific. I love staying at this hotel and have done so 5 or 6 times while my son has been at BU>

Stayed March 2015
By Ann S


“Amazing”

They made my first visit to Boston a hassle free experience.  The room was amazing and oh so comfy, the staff was attentive and courteous, making my anxiousness over my interview become nonexistent. Will definitely come back.

Stayed February 2015
By SamanthaMedina


“Great experience for Valentine’s Wedding”

Our family and friends booked 10 rooms. Guests were 1 to 89 years old. In connection with a family wedding on Valentines’ Day during what ended up as another big snow event for Boston. All the staff were very helpful and welcoming especially the concierge who assisted with baby crib, foldaway cot, microwave, and transportation to/from BU’s March Chapel. Room service was very prompt in spite of weather and food arrived well prepared and hotel! Adjacent two restaurants Eastern Standard and Island Creek Oyster Bar were both very good, just steps away from lobby. Would not hesitate to recommend to anyone needing accommodation in Boston.

Stayed February 2015
By KnittingKitty


“Winter Wonderland”

My daughter and I had the best experience (again) staying at the Commonwealth this past week. Given the weather conditions outside 96 feet of snow!!) all the staff was so gracious and happy to serve. This isn’t the first time for us at the hotel but every time we come back our experience is world class. Since our daughter goes to BU, the location is ideal as it is close to Newbury St and downtown great food, sightseeing, and shopping. If you want even better treatment, wear your Red Sox cap!

Stayed February 2015
By Michael W


“Will definitely stay here next visit!”

We stayed at this hotel for 5 days for a family wedding. It couldn’t have been better.  The staff was incredibly hospitable and constantly at our service. The staff was attentive to our needs. We had our 16 month old with us for the stay and I’d recommend staying in the junior suite. It’s a large area and they set up a crib for him. I will definitely be staying here next time!

Stayed February 2015
By Sarah_Texas50


“Valentine’s Blizzard Weekend”

My husband booked a room at the Hotel Commonwealth as a surprise for Valentine’s Day. We were int he Rathskeller Suite. Any rock and roll buff would love it just for all the memorabilia in the suite. But the little touches made it an incredibly memorable weekend. From the complimentary red rose and Prosecco to the specialty folded towels to the wonderfully hospitable staff, we felt like treasured guests. This spread not just throughout the hotel staff but to the associated restaurants. we had equally wonderful experience at Eastern Standard , Island Creek Oyster Bar, and The Hawthorne. To have such amazing restaurants literally net door to our accommodations, especially during a blizzard, was wonderful!

Stayed February 2015
By Jan M


“Great hotel in a great location”

In my recent visit to Boston, I stayed in Hotel Commonwealth. The location is great, right in the heart of Boston and on top of a T-Station, which makes it very easy to get around the city. I also visited one of the restaurants at the hotel (Island Creek Oyster Bar), the food was great and service excellent! Overall, the hotel was great. I can certainly see myself visiting again.

Stayed February 2015
By Aussie_Allen


“Great People +Great Location = Great Hotel”

My wife and I stayed at the Hotel Commonwealth recently and were pleased. The staff was first class, very polite and enthusiastic. We used the valet car service because the young man who greeted us was extremely helpful and ready to please. The room was spacious and well appointed.

The bathroom was clean, neat and sparkling. This hotel is undergoing a major addition (96 rooms) and renovation (lobby) during a most difficult winter with class. The front desk was 100% behind the expansion and sincerely projected confidence and pride in the work being done. I would highly recommend staying at the Hotel Commonwealth when visiting Boston, especially if you are a baseball fan. Ask for a fifth floor room (off numbered) and you’ll see Fenway park which is directly across the street. The location of the hotel includes a T stop which is very convenient if you use the public transportation system. Overall, this place is a winner.

Stayed February 2015
By pistol53


“Another Great Stay!”

Over the past five years, I have had the pleasure of staying at this hotel about eight different times. Every visit has been wonderful. The hotel has gradually gone through some style changes that have resulted in a more modern look, (yes I do like others sort of miss the previous style of the hallways and rooms), but the bottom line is the service is still excellent, the rooms are bright and clean, and the hotel location is superb! I’m sure the new look will grow on me. There is just something about this hotel that feels so welcoming. We wouldn’t want to stay anywhere but the Hotel Commonwealth! If you get a chance, check out their fabulous restaurants! Fabulous!

Stayed January 2015
By jhbbmb11


“Superb Staff”

Hope you get Nick at check in. He is knowledgeable on things to do in the area. Had a room facing Kenmore Square and you could not hear cars or pedestrians. Why can’t hotels in NYC offer that!?!

Stayed January 2015
By Suzanne W


“Great getaway-Heidi & Pete”

My husband and I were looking for a nice getaway. Hotel Commonwealth far exceeded our wishes. Beautiful, clean rooms. Staff delightful. Great proximity to surrounding attractions. Highly recommended. A joining restaurant had delicious food.

Stayed January 2015
By Heidi S


“Highly enjoyable stay”

We found this hotel when bringing our daughter to Boston University, which is across the street from this hotel. Great location, the T stop is essentially a couple steps beyond the front door, rooms were clean, spacious and beautiful, service was excellent. Would stay here again.

Stayed January 2015
By ClarePMC


“Great Experience from Start to Finish”

This was my first time in Boston and I did some research ahead of time to find a great place to stay. The location is unbeatable and the amenities were also excellent. The hotel offers free morning car service anywhere in a two mile radius, which I was able to use for my interview. Oh and do not miss out on Island Creek Oyster Bar- it is rated as one of the best restaurants in Boston. What really makes the place special, however, is the fabulous service. Everyone from the doorman, front desk staff, and housekeeping was accommodating and extremely friendly. Jeff, in particular, went out of his way to make sure everything was perfect. I would stay here again in a heart beat and would recommend it to anyone.

Stayed January 2015
By 1535sara


“Best hotel in Boston”

Excellent location. Rooms were just perfect and the service is outstanding. I’ve stayed here three years in a row and will continue to only use this hotel while in Boston. Doesn’t get any better than the Hotel Commonwealth!

Stayed January 2015
By agnesfromtipperary


“Pampered- in Every Way”

Pampered- in every way. I was only at the Hotel Commonwealth for two nights but I wish it had been longer. The staff was friendly and welcoming from the doorman, front desk, room and housekeeping staff and everyone at Eastern Standard Restaurant. All our needs and wants were met and more. We stayed in the lovely library suite and I enjoyed browsing through dozens of books and magazines as I relaxed on the window seat chaise sipping hot tea. The suite was beautiful, impeccably clean, comfortable and charming. The shower amenities from Italy and the luxurious robe added to my feeling pampered. The restaurant served amazing food and drinks. But aside from all the comfortable surroundings and food- it was the staff that will make you want to come back again and again. They all truly seemed to enjoy their jobs and caring for their guests. That in itself was a delight.

Stayed January 2015
By Mary N.


“The place to stay if you are in Boston.”

Comfortable and well furnished rooms featuring local history; best pillows! the staff was friendly and attentive and went above and beyond; fantastic wait staff at the hotel lounge. Our second and not last visit.

Stayed December 2014
By Andriaki


“Location and service were great!”

Stayed on this hotel last July.  Absolutely loved the location, view of our room, and the service. The price I paid for this hotel is a little high up there in comparison to my normal choice of lodging, nevertheless, it was a good experience. I think this is the best hotel to stay at around the Fenway Park.

Stayed December 2014
By Athenatc


“Tremendous Hotel”

We came for our first visit to Boston from Reykavik, Iceland. We booked the hotel because of it’s reviews on line. It was better than we imagined. We had our 5 months old baby son with us and we had the most wonderful time at the hotel. The room was excellent with great bed, very clean and excellent sleeping quality. We staff wanted to do everything to help us and make our life easier. We rented a car through the hotel and it was very good. The people at the front desk was wonderful form day one.  In fact, everybody was wonderful that worked in the hotel. the hotel has an excellent place for breakfast, Eastern Standard and is very cozy to sit there and have dinner. We will for sure be back at Hotel Commonwealth in the near future when we come back to Boston. I would highly recommend the hotel to other visitors. 5 stars for me.

Stayed December 2014
By Gunnar J


“Top notch hotel”

When planning our trip to Boston, I booked our stay at this hotel not knowing anything about the hotel other than reading some reviews and viewing their website. I was very pleased with our location and accommodations. Our Commonwealth Suite was very roomy, elegant, quiet and recently renovated. I highly recommend the adjoining restaurant, Eastern Standard. The hotel is near great shopping on Newbury Street, bus and subway lines and wonderful sightseeing destinations. Above all, everyone was very friendly and helpful.

Stayed November 2014
By Pamela S


“Great little gem”

Love, love, love this hotel!We stayed an entire week in a beautifully appointed suite. It was spacious and perfect for a family of four. The staff was friendly, helpful and very accommodating. Great food and ambiance at Eastern Standard next door. Centrally located, and steps away from the “T.” We will definitely be back!

Stayed November 2014
By 5wanderlusts


“Making a business trip a total pleasure”

We had another wonderful stay at the Hotel Commonwealth. Work trip for me but pleasure for my husband. The rooms are awesome but the staff deserves all the credit, especially Sean, Nick and Jeff. Very welcoming and gracious. Love that the hotel was centrally located for sight seeing. Beautiful city. We loved it!!!

Stayed November 2014
By Karlyne C


“Beautiful hotel centrally located”

I had a very short stay in the lovely, comfortable Hotel Commonwealth and would recommend it to anyone. I wish I could have stayed there longer! The room was very quiet, no sound drifts from elsewhere. There’s a fridge in the room which is very handy, especially for transatlantic travelers likely to wake in the small hours wanting breakfast! However, there is also 24 hour room service.

Stayed November 2014
By Lily Rory


“Quaint and Charming”

A Hilton Gold member, I have stayed in a no. of Hilton Hotels in the Boston area over the years, but no longer! The Commonwealth was a wonderful step back in time with keen, tasteful attention to details that the chains have long betrayed. If you want to stay in a really centrally located Back Bay luxury hotel, the Commonwealth should be your first choice. It’s highly professional staff and lovely, well appointed and quiet rooms make it an exceptional Boston hotel. It will in future be my first choice while in Boston.

Stayed November 2014
By David C


“I may be spoiled for all other Boston hotels”

Everything about my stay was excellent. Of course, it is hard complain when your stay begins with a room upgrade, but that is not why I am so pleased with my stay. Everyone on the staff was fantastic- from the doorman and valet to the front desk and housekeeping.

My room, a junior suite, was beautiful, spacious, and incredibly comfortable. the area was great for a morning run and the evening dining (Island Creek) and drink (Hawthorne) options should not be missed.

I will be back, but not soon enough.

Stayed November 2014
By acciodogs


“The best hotel in Boston”

I stay in many hotels across the US and can honestly say this hotel has them all licked for service and the quality of the staff. Everyone is always only too willing to help and always smiling. VIP service all around. I’ve stayed at a lot of different hotels in Boston over the years and can say honestly that this is the best.

Stayed November 2014
By Colin H


“Fun,mid-week stay!”

Our return to the Hotel Commonwealth far exceeded any expectations (which were already set high from previous stays there). From the moment we pulled up to the front door, we were treated like royalty…even with a pre-schooler in tow! We were given a free room upgrade which blew our minds away- the new “Rat” suite, dedicated to the legendary punk club in Kenmore Square…beyond awesome considering we were headed to a concert later in the evening. The room was amazing rock memorabilia! Our daughter was also given a teddy bear by one of the hotel staff as a “welcome!” The hotel has been renovated very recently, and the rooms are VERY clean and modern, but not “over the top” weird modern. Dinner (and breakfast) at Eastern Standard is always a favorite stop for my wife and me. The hotel is a perfect place to stay if catching a game at Fenway or going to a nearby concert (House of Blue, Brighton Music Hall, Paradise Rock Club, ect). Room service was professional and timely. It’s not a matter of IF, but rather, of WHEN we will return to a stay! A++++!

Stayed November 2014
By Charles T


“Excellent Stay”

Stayed here with my wife for a few days at the end of October for her birthday and have to say the hotel lives up to its great reviews. Room, staff, restaurants, location, all good and easy to access to everywhere we wanted to go in Boston, with the Prudential center shops and newbury street all within an easy 10 minute walk. Worth the money for the views from the top of the Prudential center and also enjoyed the old town trolley bus tours. If you want a hotel right in the center then go for it but the Commonwealth in my opinion is located a little away from the hustle and bustle in a very nice and handy location.

Stayed November 2014
By skymanpaul


“Sales Kick-Off Meeting”

We had a perfect 4 days at the hotel@ Every year we book our Corporate Sales Meeting at Hotel Commonwealth. We typically stay Monday-Thursday. We occupy all of the conference rooms for our program and meetings and book a signification number of hotel rooms for employees and vendors.

Every year it’s amazing and extraordinary but this year it was absolutely perfect! The food and incredible, the service impeccable. They took care of all of our business needs from accommodating extra vendors, set-up with the production and film crew, setting up the gift bags and advertiser display banners. They even picked the menus and the food was out of this world! They treated us like GOLD!!!!

Our company has numerous events throughout the year at other venues in various locations but Hotel Commonwealth treats us the best by far. They have an amazing staff and resources.

I strongly suggest staying at the hotel. It’s lovely….I suggest you try the short ribs.

Stayed October 2014
By Crystal B


“Great unique luxurious rooms, hotel with a lot of character and style”

I’ve been staying here every week for business travel and so have seen many rooms after they updated them: with contemporary kitchen and gigantic love seat, 270 degree view of Prudential, Kenmore Square and BU, and Fenway Park… You can’t beat the location, outstanding service, high quality finishing and management of the hotel.  Restaurants nearby and a short walk to the river for a run or Newbury Street for shopping make it a perfect destination for a weekend trip or longer.  Highly recommend it.

Stayed October 2014
By OlgaH8