interior-slider-gallery
interior-slider-gallery

Reviews

tripadvisor-logo

 


“Outstanding Stay & Amazing Location”

From the moment I arrived at Hotel Commonwealth the staff could not have delivered better service. The front desk granted me an early check in to my Fenway facing room which was much appreciated as I had to get to a business meeting urgently. The room was really sleek, modern and very spacious compared to other hotels I’ve stayed in in the area. Front desk even told me that there were Keurig coffee machines at request, which I obviously accepted. Housekeeping was very polite and friendly. I will for sure be a repeat customer here, and will also be recommending to my family and friends.

Stayed February 2018


“Superior Value in the Heart of Fenway”

I travel often to Boston for business related to Baseball and I love the Hotel Commonwealth. You cannot beat the location to Fenway and lots of shopping and nightlife on Commonwealth. The staff is extremely friendly and accommodating, restaurants are great and a real Starbucks right in front of the hotel is an added bonus. Rooms are spacious, modern and very clean. Be sure to check out the baseball themed elevator complete with some HOF autographs. For the Boston area it is an exceptional value.

Stayed February 2018


“5-Star Everything!”

I recently used Hotel Commonwealth to lodge a large number of guests for a university event and to host a welcome dinner at the Hotel’s onsite restaurant Eastern Standard. Absolutely everything was 5 stars: the service, the rooms, the amenities, the dining, and the location. The event manager Janelle was a pleasure to work with and made coordination of the event details very easy. She left me feeling confident that the hotel was prepared for the event. Most importantly, our guests received 5 star service. The amenities, sophisticated atmosphere, quality onsite dining, and the exceptional service – put Hotel Commonwealth in a category of its own. I will definitely turn to Hotel Commonwealth for our future events!

Stayed January 2018


“Magnificent!”

I’ve been travelling to Boston on and off for around 10+ years and have always stayed at the Commonwealth. It just seems to get better and better! The newly renovated extension is slick and modern but completely warm and inviting. Staff is great as well. Will continue to stay at HC because there’s not one reason not too.

Stayed January 2018


“Wonderful Experience!”

From the moment we stopped our car in front of the hotel to the moment we left the next day, we were treated like royalty! The gentleman who greeted us and took our car was a true gent–he was genuine, friendly, helpful and attentive. His smile made us feel welcome. 

Although we did not need bellman assistance, he also made us feel special. He too smiled and was genuine. He asked about our plans, what could he do to help us enjoy our visit and as we walked to the front desk, he reiterated to come back if we needed anything. 

Our registration was warm and comfortable. Again, we were greeted quite nicely. Our name was used and we felt like we were the only guest in the hotel! Very special!

Our room was very comfortable. Although the hotel is located right on Commonwealth Avenue (an ideal location to explore the city), our room was quiet with no road or city noise. The room is very well appointed, modern and has all of the ammenities–big screen TV, high end lotions and toiletries, and a very comfortable bed–simply wonderful.

We attended a college hockey game that evening. When we returned, the front desk staff greeted us by name, welcomed us back and asked how our evening was. Again, they were genuinely friendly. The same was true when we checked out the next day. In fact, the front desk agent asked how the game was! What a good memory!

I would highly recommend this hotel. Great staff and service, ideal location and perfect accommodations!

Stayed January 2018


“Exceptional Hospitality – Best in Boston”

I travel for work and I must say the Hotel Commonwealth is by far my favorite hotel in Boston. The gorgeous rooms, the fabulous food and the dedicated staff are amazing – no detail is overlooked. 
It’s located in the perfect area for shopping , dining and sporting events. It’s literally right next to Fenway Park! The restaurant at the Hotel, Eastern Standard, has one of the best brunches in the city. 
I highly recommend staying here when you in Boston.

Stayed December 2017


“Holiday Party”

The staff at the Hotel Commonwealth was exceptional to work with throughout the planning of my company holiday party. They were responsive, flexible, and always went the extra mile to ensure our needs were met.

Stayed December 2017


“Gorgeous!”

Very nice and helpful service and a room that makes feel at home, not in a hotelroom. It’s quiet, relaxed and classy. Well situated also near Fenway park and next to the subway. The meeting rooms were light, spacious and well equipped.

Stayed December 2017


“Could not be a better hotel in Boston”

Just back from a 4 nights stay at this wonderful hotel. We travelled as 4 couples from Ireland & wow were we treated with fantastic service. Nick was the first to greet us on check-in & we saw a lot of him over our 5 days. He truly excels at his job. Made us so welcome & was so helpful & assisting throughout our stay. Nothing was a problem. The rooms were the best we’ve stayed in ever in the US – very roomy & bed was so comfortable. Double shower in the bathroom also was amazing. Did I mention the 50 inch plasma TV in our room with every channel possible – not that we watched it much.. The complimentary bottles of water in the fridge daily went down a treat. The hotel bars are fab & the service is first class. The location of this hotel is perfect. The tube/train station is 100 metres away & in 4/5 stops you are in the centre of the shopping district. Plenty of shops, restaurants & bars close by too & well within walking distance of the Commonwealth. We will definitely be back to Boston & without doubt this hotel. Thank you Nick & staff for a wonderful few days. Looking forward to seeing you next year – hopefully! Conor & gang

Stayed December 2017


“Exceptional Service”

This hotel has been AMAZING! From the moment I pulled up to the curb, valet was there to greet me immediately. Upon checking in I was greeted by Keith. His customer service and level of accommodation are unparalleled. He took notice that we were celebrating a special occasion and had traveled all the way from San Diego. He went above and beyond to make our experience unique. We were pleasantly surprised with a few perks and it really made the difference in our time spent here. He also went out of his way to provide us with tips on transportation and must see places. Anytime I am in Boston, I will definitely stay here.

Stayed December 2017


“By far the BEST hotel in Boston!”

I have been traveling to Boston and staying in different hotel’s for a very long time. Hotel Commonwealth is a hidden gem! The location couldn’t be better and there is a gorgeous view from every room. I highly recommend getting room service breakfast or heading down to Eastern Standard, always our favorite! The rooms are exceptionally clean and put together. The staff is always so welcoming and the service is exceptional. I will never stay at any other hotel in Boston ever again! Always recommending Hotel Commonwealth to everyone that I know.

Stayed November 2017


“Incredible Weekend! Would Go Back in a Heartbeat!”

We recently stayed at Hotel Commonwealth with multiple friends to attend a sporting event at Fenway. We were absolutely blown away by the staff and the property. The accommodations, Island Creek Oyster Bar, staff, bedrooms, etc… were fantastic. Corey, Steve and every other hotel employee were top notch. We have never felt so welcome anywhere! The food and atmosphere at the Oyster Bar were perfect. And you can not beat the location. We would recommend it to all travelers. We will never stay any where else when we visit Boston!

Stayed November 2017


“Wedding Night”

This hotel was fabulous! The staff was beyond friendly and helpful upon booking and arrival. We were upgraded to a suite complimentary because it was our wedding night! The room was beautiful and well kept. Excellent restaurant for drinks attached. Great location! My husband is from Chicago and has heard about the “Citgo” landmark sign and our room was right in front of it! My parenst cannot wait to visit this hotel after a red Sox game in the future!

Stayed November 2017


“My Wonderful Stay”

My experience was awesome from the check-in to the check-out the staff was welcoming and informative, the Hotel is lovely with a contemporary elegance I really enjoyed my stay. Just steps away from the Famous Fenway Park what an excellent location.

Stayed November 2017


“The Staff at the Commonwealth is Amazing.”

The hotel is beautiful, in an amazing location and every member of the staff we interacted with could not have been nicer or more helpful. The rooms are a great size and the bed is amazingly comfortable. With two terrific restaurants attached to the hotel with delicious food and a great ambiance, it all adds up to a perfect trip. We will be back!

Stayed November 2017


“Best Hotel in Boston!”

My husband and I just got home from an awesome stay at Hotel Commonwealth to celebrate his 50th! We’ve stayed here before and wouldn’t hesitate to stay anywhere else on our next trip to Boston! Staff couldn’t be friendlier, rooms are amazing and extremely clean, (I’m a clean freak so this is super important to me), trendy, Island Creek Oyster is attached and great for lunch/dinner/brunch! Frankie at valet is super friendly, Parker at the front desk checked us in and upgraded us to the most amazing room, thank you so much for a much needed weekend get away!

Stayed October 2017


“Perfect Fall Weekend in Boston”

Visited Boston for Head of the Charles and college tours with my daughter. Excellent location for visiting BU and Northeastern and also walking distance to Newbury St. shopping. Took the Green Line (station right outside hotel) to Boston College and also used the T for an awesome Italian dinner in North End. Kudos to Hotel Commonwealth for hiring BU Hospitality Management students Parker and Gregory, who were both excellent hotel employees and valuable resources as my daughter and I deciphered the college options in the area. Did I mention the rooms were brand new and the beds were comfortable?/! We will absolutely return to this property!

Stayed October 2017


“Excellent”

My partner and I have just spent three nights at this comfortable, modern, stylish boutique hotel and enjoyed every minute. The staff were professional, yet friendly, and made us feel very welcome. The huge bed was very comfortable and our room at the side was very quiet.

The hotel is an easy 30 minute walk from Boston centre, but there are good transport (bus, subway and taxi) links just outside. The Fenway area does not have a great deal of choice of eating places, but Eastern Standard (which is independent from the hotel, but accessible from within it) has a wide choice of dishes to suit most tastes and has a great atmosphere.

Great choice for baseball fans as the Red Sox ground is just around the corner.

We would definitely stay again.

Stayed October 2017


“Great Stay and Warm Hospitality”

This is a great hotel. The room was great and thanks to Keith at the front desk he made it very special. He wanted us to feel at home and between the suite and his added touch of kindness, it was perfect. Oh, and I can I say, the view of Fenway Park is spectacular. Thank you Keith and the staff for a great stay. 

Will be back next time we are in Boston.

Stayed September 2017


“Top Notch Hotel in Kenmore Square by BU/Fenway Park”

My first Trip Advisor review was about the Hotel Commonwealth six years ago, and we have returned regularly since then. Recently renovated and expanded, it is the perfect place to stay if you are doing anything BU or Red Sox/Fenway concert related. Terrific staff from great doormen, bell staff, and hosts to service. Excellent comfortable rooms/beds, and the bonus of having Island Creek Oyster House, Eastern Standard, the Hawthorne bar, and a Starbucks all within the building. An easy walk to Newbury Street/Prudential Center, and plenty of food options in walking distance. Excellent!

Stayed September 2017


“The perfect place to stay for touring Boston”

Stayed at the hotel because I was in town to see a Yankees/Red Sox game. What a great hotel! Contemporary and immaculately clean. A friendly staff who clearly enjoy making their guests feel welcomed. The management of this hotel is obviously invested in providing a wonderful experience for its patrons. In addition to that, a three block walk to Fenway Park, and the T green line right outside the door to take you to all there is to see in Boston. Couldn’t ask for more.

 
Stayed August 2017

“Excellent visit in order to attend James Taylor concert!”

This is our third year staying at the Hotel Commonwealth in a Jr. Suite. The service, from the front desk, to cleaning staff, to bell boys, to wait staff in the Eastern Standard restaurant, is impeccable and delivered with a warm and welcoming smile. No request is too much. The rooms are lovely and immaculate. Although coffee makers are not provided in the rooms, they are available upon request. Lunch, dinner, and breakfast are delicious, fresh, with great care to accommodate food allergies. We will continue to book a stay here each summer. It is less than a 5 minute walk to Fenway Park even in a crowd!

 
Stayed August 2017

“A Wonderful Experience!”

I stayed here while touring colleges with my daughter, and I was very happy with the choice. The service was the best I’ve seen in a while. The front desk staff really went out of their way to make us feel welcome and taken care of. When I asked about a running path, I got a thorough explanation of the best route. When I asked for a restaurant recommendation, I got several great ideas. When I needed help with wifi, IT was on the phone to resolve my issue within minutes. The room was very spacious and nicely updated. And the location can’t be beat–just a short walk to Newbury Street, which is full of great shops and restaurants, and right next door to Boston University.

 
Stayed July 2017

“Best service! Excellent room. Top location.”

We would nominate this for the best hotel renovation ever. Decor ties into Fenway, but not overdone. (Even for a Yankee fan.) Rooms and bathrooms just right, sparkly and so comfortable. Like the idea of a topnotch seafood restaurant in same building. Room service OK. The staff was superb. We arrived after a harrowing 91 mile tow, and reception looked after us like they were our family. Every shift for three days seemed to know us and show concern. They were very professional with us and with the families of excited fans. The bar was a great place to watch the action, too. Kenmore Station literally next door.

Stayed August 2017

“No Better Place For Red Sox Fans”

Our family plans East Coast vacation back “home” every summer around Red Sox games. We spend 3 nights at the HC because you cannot beat it for luxury accommodations so close to Fenway. The beds are amazing, bathroom toiletries are finest you’ll find, and the personnel at hotel are beyond helpful! The manager at HC, Anika, treated us like royalty for being loyal return guests.
Reserve a room or two at this fabulous hotel, enjoy the short walk to Fenway and close proximity to T station if you visit Boston, you will not be sorry!
 
Stayed July 2017

“LOVE, LOVE, LOVE”

Everything about Hotel Commonwealth exceeded my expectations. I cannot wait to stay again next time in Boston. Where to begin? Excellent location? Check. (Although when there’s a Red Sox game and/or BU is in session, I imagine this area is totally nuts). Incredibly well-appointed rooms that are clean, comfy, and spacious? Check! Bath products that you want to take home with you? Check. Awesome on-property restaurants that are so good they’re flooded with locals? Yep! And, an awesome staff who goes above and beyond? YES! We were celebrating a special occasion. Not only were we upgraded to an executive suite, but we were also sent a very thoughtful tray of local goodies and champagne. Super classy, super thoughtful, and super appreciated. We loved both Eastern Standard and Island Creek Oyster Company, both of which are accessible from the lobby. Be sure to make reservations at both. We also loved the Apotheke bath products (made in Brooklyn).

Thank you Commonwealth, we are impressed.

Stayed July 2017

“The BEST Hotel in Boston”

We have stayed at the HC many times. It’s amenities, location, staff, concierge, rooms, and linens are second to none. We have stayed for birthday and anniversary celebrations, for which concierge Nicholas MacDonald provided superior service, and exceptional ideas and surprises! Even the lobby smells divine.
We always recommend the HC to friends and relatives. You simply cannot find a more complete experience at any other hotel. We LOVE the staff, the unique rooms and balconies, and the Red Sox elevator (!!).
Stay here. You will never have a complaint, or a want or need that cannot be met.

Stayed May 2017


“The only place we will stay in Boston!”

This was the second time my husband and I stayed at Hotel Commonwealth. Our first trip was June 2016. We decided after that first trip that we would make sure we always returned to Hotel Commonwealth for any visit to Boston. My husband and I live in Indiana and we are both huge baseball fans. He is a Cubs fan and I am a Red Sox fan, and we love nothing more than taking in games at Fenway, Wrigley, or any other ball park honestly. The proximity to Fenway is one of the huge perks for this hotel. It is such a quick walk over the bridge to get to a game. 

However, there are so many other things that make this hotel great. I love the look and comfort of the rooms, the modern updates, and the staff. I absolutely have to brag about how great Nick at the front desk is. Both trips he has made sure we truly enjoyed are stay. His love for Boston and his energy are just contagious, and we loved talking sports with him. He helped us out with anything and everything we could have possibly needed. In addition to Nick, the rest of the staff was incredible as well. From the gentleman at the front door to the staff we encountered at the front desk, everyone worked to make sure we had a fabulous stay. I am certain that this will always be our go to place for every future visit to Boston.

Stayed April 2017


“Wonderful Hotel!!”

We went to Boston for the Marathon and stayed at this very lovely hotel. The second we stepped into the doorway we were greeted by such nice and friendly people. The rooms were spacious and everything was extremely clean! Will be staying there again next Marathon!!

Stayed April 2017


“Hotel Commonwealth – Awesome Hotel & Best People”

Whenever we travel to Boston we make sure to stay at the Hotel Commonwealth.
We have stayed in excess of 40 nights over the past 6 years and the property is 5 star all the way!!
The people and service are top shelf !
Standout Nicholas MacDonald (Head Concierge) sets a professional tone of helpfulness and friendliness while having a wealth of knowledge about the city of Boston and its happenings. Buildings and location are important but people make the difference and that’s the winning trifecta combination you will experience at Hotel Commonwealth in Boston, MA. It keeps us coming back. Check it out!

Stayed April 2017


“Great experience on every dimension”

Just spent a few nights at Hotel Commonwealth when my family was doing college visits. It’s in a great location near Fenway Park, very close to BU and Northeastern and a good jumping off point for Boston College. It was a 5-10 minute walk to Back Bay and right next to the Green Line T stop, so it’s got great access to all of the city. Our room was stylish, spacious and comfortable and seemed roomier than many other hotels I’ve stayed in recently. The staff was terrific — so friendly and helpful. I read another review that said it can be expensive; we must have had a good online rate because I found it to be great value for the money. I will definitely return!

Stayed April 2017


“First rate hotel a short walk from Fenway”

If you are headed to Fenway Park, no other hotel comes close. Superb facilities just a short walk from the ball park. Apart from the close connection with the Red Sox, the Commonwealth has a lot to offer. Terrific, friendly staff…spacious and well appointed rooms…a comfortable and inviting sitting area near the lobby…and a lot of interesting art. We, like virtually every guest, were there for Opening Day at Fenway and I have no doubt we’ll return.

Stayed April 2017


“Fabulous hotel!”

I stayed here for two nights for a work meeting and was not disappointed. The staff were very attentive and helpful and the conference rooms were comfortable and well appointed. The hotel catered the food and it was fantastic! The rooms were spacious and the bathroom toiletries were all natural and handmade in the US, which I greatly appreciated. I would love to come back when I’m not working and catch a Red Sox game. Fenway Park is just across the way.

Stayed April 2017


“Great Stay”

We were only in Boston for the night so my daughter could tour Boston U. The hotel was recommended by friends and we were not disappointed. Jonathan at the front desk was great and very helpful. The staff, in general were very good.

Stayed March 2017


“Great visit”

In town touring colleges with my daughter, our first time staying at the Commonwealth, but hopefully not our last! Wonderful room, and the staff….can’t say enough nice things about them! Everyone was extremely personable and eager to help in any way possible. And the location? Can’t beat it; beautiful historic townhomes with restaurants/taverns tucked in. We enjoyed our walks and felt completely safe. My only recommendation would be to add an additional towel bar in the bathroom (we like to conserve so it’d be nice to have that, especially if we had an extra person with us). Overall, looking forward to staying here in the future!

Stayed March 2017


“Luxury, elegance, comfort”

HC was wonderful; incredibly attentive staff with brilliant local knowledge, only too willing to help in any way possible. Awesome collection of memorabilia, baseball lift(Red Sox) is a nice touch. The executive king had more than enough space, two large TVs and a personalised tablet for the room. Location in back bay is a short walk to Newbury st for food and shopping and fairly close to main tourist areas including the common(start of freedom trail) approx 20min walk/5 min uber.

Long story short we could not have been happier with our stay. Thanks HC. We will be back!

Stayed March 2017


“Wonderful hotel”

We visited our children and stayed at this hotel. It was our first time at Commonwealth hotel. We have been traveling to Boston since 2002 and stayed at many hotels. Commonwealth hotel so far surpassed all other hotels in quality and customer service. Comfortable rooms, very friendly and accommodating staff. Any time of day or night we always saw friendly faces and heard warm voices. Very happy stay! We will absolutely come back!!! I highly recommend this hotel.

Stayed March 2017


“Great hotel in a great location–“

We stayed overnight while seeing Sting at the House of Blues. This was a very nice hotel in a classic part of Boston. We could see the famous Citgo sign outside of our window and this was walking distance to the HOB and Fenway. We upgraded to a suite which had a private sitting area. Would stay here again.

Stayed March 2017


“Birthday getaway”

This hotel is the epitome of perfect. We arrived and we’re greeted warmly by the valet and front desk. Checking in is the easiest and fastest of any place we stayed. The rooms are large and perfectly set up. No problems with the rooms as they are clean and ready. Security is top notch as you need your keycard to use the elevator. We have always enjoyed our stays here.

Stayed March 2017


“Great hotel, great service”

Excellent hotel located in the best part of Boston. Right next to Newberry Street home to the best shops and restaurants in Boston. Immediately next to the Kenmore T stop it puts you anywhere you need to go.

Stayed March 2017


“Amazing hotel each time”

Excellent experience every time we come!
Impeccably clean, modern, beautifully appointed. The staff goes above and beyond whenever and wherever they can.
Plus sandwiched between 2 of bostons best restaurants, Eastern Standard and our favorite, Island Creek Oyster.
Walking distance to many Boston attractions and train directly below hotel.
Also a Starbucks, convenient store and wine store with a minute walk.
Love it here!!

Stayed March 2017


“BU Visit”

I chose to upgrade to the Fenway view, it was absolutely amazing. The room, the bed, the linens, everything was top notch. We will definitely stay here again! The hotel was very convenient to BU. It is also close to the subway.

Stayed February 2017


“Perfect Anniversary”

Extremely impressed, my husband and I celebrated our one year anniversary here and it was the best decision ever!! The staff was super friendly and accommodating. My husband and I were celebrating a few days late but wanted something special and Hotel Commonwealth absolutely provided that for us! They even upgraded our room which made our short stay even better! Clean and modern with a splash of old time Boston made for a perfect stay!! Hotel Commonwealth will forever be our anniversary getaway place. Thank you again for making our stay that much more enjoyable :-) 

Stayed February 2017


“Beautiful hotel!”

My husband and I enjoyed our stay. The room was very spacious and exceptionally clean. Will definitely stay here again!! The bathroom was huge and very accommodating for our needs. The staff was very friendly and polite.

Stayed February 2017


“Wish I could live here!”

Wonderful staff, modern decor and comfortable, clean rooms. This hotel is definitely my favorite in the city of Boston. The front office supervisor Gregory was so informative and pleasant. Of all of the hotels I’ve checked into, he is by far the most friendly and knowledgeable. I can’t say enough about my stay; the unique and classic qualities of style throughout the Hotel Commonwealth are well balanced with its connecting restaurant, the Eastern Standard. This restaurant is one of the best for traditional dishes with incredible flavor. It’s like a dream come true to stay here, and I wish I never had to leave! Thank you for making my stay so great!

Stayed February 2017


“There isn’t a better hotel”

If you are going to stay anywhere in Boston, this hotel has it all. The rooms are renovated, the service is better than any service you will ever find, every detail of your stay is thought of, the Eastern Standard is classy, modern and the place to be, it’s walking distance to a plethora of must do’s, there is complimentary driver service, the list goes on and on. I was impressed beyond belief! Again, Commonwealth is 100% recommended and a must stay!

Stayed February 2017